Juvenile and Young Adult Literature

New Mexico Reads Database

This ebook and audiobook collection provided by the New Mexico State Library includes Southwest history and culture titles and fiction by New Mexico authors or set in the Southwest. New Mexico Reads also includes some books on racism in America, library and information science, national topics such as the 1918 Spanish flu pandemic, and a selection of audiobooks. There is a small collection of books for children and tweens and teens. ENMU users create a free account using your ENMU ID# as your library ID.  Users can also download an app for reading on a mobile device. Visit your app store and search for the Axis 360 app. Once you have downloaded the app, search for New Mexico State Library and login.

The Juvenile and Young Adult Collection is located on the second floor in the southeast corner.  It can be reached by either stairwell or by elevator.

This collection is available for everyone.  Anyone with an ENMU ID card or a community borrower card can check out the materials. 

Community borrower cards are free and allow users 16 years old and up to check out this collection.  To obtain this card, go to the circulation desk on the main floor and fill out the community card application.

While most of the collection is written in English, there are books in other languages.  We have books written in Spanish and Navajo and bilingual books in these and other languages. 

These books can be located in the catalog by adding the language to your search.  There is a sticker on many books identifying them as written in Espanol (Spanish) or Book Libro Bilingual.

The Search box enables you to search everything in the library at one time, including books, music, films, journal articles, eBooks, etc. To find materials in our juvenile or young adult collections limit the results list by Using the Filter By Location limiter on the left side of the page and choosing Juvenile or Young Adult.

• For Juvenile materials, add the word "Juvenile" to your search (Juvenile AND dogs)
• For YA materials, add "Young Adult" to your search (Young Adult AND Family Relationships)

Reading Level

It is possible to find materials by Lexile score, Accelerated Reader level, or grade level, though students should be aware that not every book in the collection has this information available and the scores are not always in the same format. 

• Lexile Score - Search by range starting at XX1-X00. For example search for Lexile 301-400 will return materials in that range. Some materials only have a single score, so Lexile 600 will return different books than the range 501-600. Try both a range and a specific score when searching by Lexile level. If a score is not available for a given book in the collection try the Lexile Find-A-Book tool to see if it is listed. 
• Accelerated Reader - Search by specific level. For example a search for Accelerated Reader 4.2 will get materials assigned that level. If a book in the collection does not have an AR level, try the Accelerated Reader Bookfinder to see if it is listed. 
• Grade Level - Some books have a grade level assigned to them which can be found by searching for Grade [1-12]. This is the least reliable way to search as grade doesn't necessarily equate with reading level. 

If you need any assistance in locating children's or young adult materials contact Susan Asplund to set up an appointment or use any of the reference services available. 

The mission of the Golden Library Juvenile and Young Adult Collection is to support the success of Eastern New Mexico University's College of Education and College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences students, faculty, and staff by providing a highly curated selection of high-quality children's, middle grade, and young adult fiction and non-fiction. 

The collection consists of modern materials as well as a collection of notable historic literature. This includes major award winners and the important works of notable authors and illustrators who significantly contributed to the fields of children's and young adult literature. For a wider selection of current materials and popular reading, students, faculty, and staff are encouraged to utilize their public library.