Serials Librarian
Collection Information
Most journals are in electronic format and are found by searching the Journals and Publications tab. The titles are found in various Golden Library databases and in the periodicals area located upstairs in the library.
A database is a collection of journals, eBooks, streaming videos, or other types of electronic materials. Additional database information can be found in the Database Information box below.
Golden Library currently receives 21 journals in print that are either not available online, not available in our database collection, or have an embargo on online access to the title. The balance of the print collection is older issues of journals not available online. We currently receive 2 New Mexico newspapers in print.
*“In academic publishing, an embargo is a period during which access to academic journals is not allowed to users who have not paid for access (or have access through their institution). The purpose of this is to protect the revenue of the publisher.”
An embargo can last anywhere from 1 month to 10 years.
*SPARC Europe, https://web.archive.org/web/20151118022056/http://sparceurope.org/embargoes/
The print serials collection is located on the second floor in the southeast corner of the building. It can be reached by taking either set of stairs or the elevator to the second floor. You will find the collection behind the open space above the gallery in the compact shelving.
Print and online title holdings are located by searching Journals and Publications tab. The holdings will appear below the title on the result screen.
When you access an online journal from an off-campus computer, you will be asked to log in using your university username minus the sd/ or ad/ and your password.
Example:
|
doej |
|
password |
Print journal information can be accessed by placing an Interlibrary Loan request. The article(s) will be scanned and sent via email. More information about this process is located on the Interlibrary Loan page.
Database Information
Digital copies of articles, books, videos, and other items are available through the A-Z Databases. Most of the materials are searched when you use the search box on the Golden Library homepage. Open access and government sites are not included in this search.
The A-Z Databases include
- government sites
- open-access collections
- collections purchased by the University
Individual databases are searched by clicking on the title of the database. Databases can be sorted using limiters
- by subject
- type of database
- publisher