Archives and Special Collections Librarian
Mailing address:
ENMU Station 32
1500 S Ave K
Portales, NM 88130
Social Media
Starting your search
The Golden Library OneSearch enables you to search everything in the library at one time, including books, music, films, journal articles, eBooks, etc. If you are searching only for journal articles, using individual, subject-specific databases is highly recommended.
- To search everything at once, enter your search term in the box
- Use the filter selection at the top to limit your search by format, language, and other aspects.
Need more help? Try this guide with research tips.
Databases for Theatre/Digital Filmmaking Research
- Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new windowExpanded Academic ASAP provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines. The database meets research needs in subject areas including the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
- Fine Arts and Music Collection This link opens in a new windowFine Arts and Music Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThe JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection is the complete and full access collection. This resource provides immediate access to all archival journal collections including: Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability. It also includes primary sources collections such as: 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants.
- PBS Collection This link opens in a new windowThis collection of more than 1,200 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more, the PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition gives your patrons access to one of television’s most trusted networks.
Watch Movies and Stage Productions Online
Through ENMU Golden Library, students and employees have access to feature films and recorded stage productions.
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 67,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 14,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street.
- Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Founded in 2009, Digital Theatre+ provides powerful ways to connect ELA and Theatre students with dramatic texts, poetry and performance.
Our education team oversees all of the content that is created at Digital Theatre+, from exclusive video resources and interviews to detailed study guides, essays and lesson plans. With backgrounds in education, publishing and theatre, their knowledge and expertise are the guiding force behind everything that Digital Theatre+ produces.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowKanopy is a streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 26,000 films on every subject imaginable and from leading producers such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, HBO California Newsreel, and more. Kanopy’s website makes it easy to watch, share and discuss films across campus. Enjoy!
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowDigital Campus allows students the flexibility to legally view course-assigned films outside the classroom.
"I need a journal article..."
You have two options for journal articles: print or electronic.
- Print: Print Journals are located on the second floor of the Golden Student Success Center in collapsible shelving. Patrons may access them any time the building is open. Below is a list of print theatre journals.
- Dramatics
- TD & T
- Theater Week
- Theatre Research International.
- Electronic:
- You can do a Golden Library OneSearch to search all electronically-available journals and databases. This can be done from the library homepage or above. Be sure to check the Peer reviewed (scholarly) only box to return academic articles.
- You can search within a specific database. This can be done clicking the Databases button on the library homepage or individually in the Databases for Theatre Research box above. You can then narrow your search by changing the first drop-down menu from All Subjects to Theater.
- You can click the Journals and Publications link from the library homepage and either search for a particular journal, browse alphabetically, or narrow it down to a particular subject. This can be done clicking the eJournals link on the homepage under the Find section.
"I just want to wander the shelves looking for a book..."
Sometimes, it's nice to just wander the shelves looking for just the right book, flipping through to gauge the contents. The book collection is organized according to Library of Congress Call Numbers. Where to start? Call numbers that start with the letter PN are for literature numbers, which includes drama and technical theatre. Call numbers that start with the letter T are for technology, which include TR845-899 for cinematography and motion pictures and TT1-999 for handicrafts, including woodworking and sewing. Of course, you may want to browse some other sections for inspiration or design ideas. The full Library of Congress Classification Outline can be found here.
Student Organizations
Eastern New Mexico Women in Film
Contact: Stephanie Streseman
Phone: 575.562.2229
Email: stephanie.streseman@enmu.edu
Purpose: The purpose of our organization is to encourage women to enter the film industry by providing practical experience on films sets, as well as networking opportunities with women who are actively working in the film industry.
ENMU Film Club
Contact: Jon Barr
Email: Jonathan.Barr@enmu.edu
Purpose: ENMU Film Club, is established for the expressed purpose of developing leadership skills as well as socializing and having some fun to relieve the stresses of schooling.
Improv Club
Contact: Leonard Madrid
Phone: 575.562.2092
Email: leonard.madrid@enmu.edu
Purpose: To practice, learn, and perform improvised theatre!
Outsider Theatre Club
Contact: Clara Kundin
Phone: 575.562.2476
Email: Clara.kundin@enmu.edu
Contact: LW Miller
Phone: 575.562.2476
Email: lw.miller@enmu.edu
Purpose: This Organization provides space for people to learn and experiment while making plays in a low pressure environment.
Stage Combat Club
Contact: LW Miller
Email : lw.miller@enmu.edu
Purpose: To explore safe practices in stage combat and physical storytelling for live performance.