E-Books
Bilingual Education
Questions regarding whether a first or a second/foreign language should be used as a medium of instruction (MOI) in schools, and if yes, for whom, and when, have been enthusiastically debated in recent years in Hong Kong and many Southeast Asian societies.
The Bilingual Advantage
The Bilingual Advantage draws together researchers from education, economics, sociology, anthropology and linguistics to examine the economic and employment benefits of bilingualism in the US labor market, countering past research that shows no such benefits exist.
Bilingual Community Education and Multilingualism
This book explores bilingual community education, specifically the educational spaces shaped and organized by American ethnolinguistic communities for their children in the multilingual city of New York.
Teaching and Learning English Through Bilingual Education
These days, numerous studies document and advocate the potential effectiveness of the CLIL approach, which is viewed as a real revolution in second language pedagogy.
The Bilingual Brain
Cases of language loss and recovery bring up an intriguing paradox. If two languages are stored in the brain, how can it be that a person can lose one of them, but not the other, and then gain one back without relearning it?
Databases
ERIC
Comprehensive index of education literature and resources
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Educator's Reference Complete
Educator's Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.
Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
Books
Innovative Voices in Education
Diverse schools offer enriched academic and social environments, as students and families of different backgrounds and experiences provide a vibrant mosaic of insights, perspectives, and skills. To take advantage of the unique opportunities that diversity brings, schools must value and effectively connect with students and families of all backgrounds.
Multilingual Education in Practice
How can educators implement an inclusive and effective curriculum for ESL students? Sandra Schecter and Jim Cummins provide some answers from school-based practitioners and university-based researchers who worked on a collaborative project exploring strategies and structures that promote academic success for ESL students.
Imagining Multilingual Schools
This book brings together visions and realities of multilingual schools throughout the world in order to examine the pedagogical, socioeducational, and sociopolitical issues that impact on their development and success. The chapters describe and analyze pedagogical, instructional, and policy efforts to develop multilingualism through school with different targeted populations -- immigrant students, indigenous peoples, traditional minorities, majorities, and multiethnic/multilingual groups.
Finding Joy in Teaching Students of Diverse Backgrounds
"While no check-list of attitudes, dispositions, behaviors, or actions can define what thriving teachers look like, the teachers interviewed here give us powerful examples of what it takes to face their profession with courage, their content with enthusiasm, and their students with love." -Sonia Nieto
Bilingual and Multicultural Perspectives on Poetry, Music, and Narrative
Poetry, music, and narrative are the three aesthetic genres based on uniquely human verbal and vocal capabilities.
The Foundations of Dual Language Instruction
The Foundations of Dual Language Instructionis a practical book that examines the basic social, political, historical, and educational foundations of teaching second language learners. This outstanding book is simply written and accessible to beginners.