Class Resources - Links
- Aria Database The Aria Database is a collection of information about opera and operatic arias. Besides providing basic information about each aria, the Database includes translations for many arias and aria texts for those that are not affected by copyright restrictions. The Database also provides access to a collection of operatic sound files to give visitors an idea of what each aria sounds like. The Aria Database also contains information on available scores and sound files that can be purchased to aid in study and enjoyment. Currently, the Database holds information on the complete operatic aria collections of Mozart, Verdi, Berlioz, Wagner, and Puccini as well as the partial collections of over 50 other composers. (from About the Database page)
- Art Song Central Free sheet music.
- Diction Police The Diction Police offers: Text readings of songs and arias by native speakers IPA transcriptions Translations into several languages Video tutorials to delve in-depth into the rules of lyric diction All of these are available individually or through our subscription service! The Diction Police Podcast By the Book Lyric Diction Webinars Diction Tips Diction Lessons (Taken from The Diction Police About Us Page)
- Lieder.net The LiederNet Archive is the world’s largest reference archive of texts and translations of art songs and choral works. (from main page of site)
- Omniglot Omniglot is an encyclopedia of writing systems and languages. You can use it to learn about languages, to learn alphabets and other writing systems, and to learn phrases, numbers and other things in many languages. There is also advice on how to learn languages. (from Omniglot site About page)
- STM Publishers Voice and Diction Resources including Workbooks, Listening Lab, IPA charts and journal articles.
To learn more about these sites, hover your mouse over the information icon.
Library Database
IPA Source
Online since 2003, IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Now with over 12418 titles!