Librarian
Matthew Gormley
Contact:
1500 S Ave K, ENMU Station 32
Portales, NM 88130
Portales, NM 88130
575-562-2649
Subjects: Applied and Computer Sciences, Reference
Library Chat Talk to a librarian Library Database Help Help with access and library databases Library Home Access the library home page
Databases for Social Work Research
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection is the complete and full access collection. This resource provides immediate access to all archival journal collections including: Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability. It also includes primary sources collections such as: 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants. - PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages. - Gale OneFile News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile News provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives. - Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes 50+ annual reviews throughout the natural & social sciences,
contains full-text of recent annual reviews of the life sciences, psychology, anthropology and more.Use Sociology and Psychology subjects primarily
Relevant Titles
Advances in Social Work Practice with the Military by ISBN: 9781136789199Publication Date: 2012-05-23
Artificial Intelligence and Social Work by ISBN: 9781108645225Publication Date: 2018-08-03
Climate Justice in the Majority World : Vulnerability, Resistance, and Diverse Knowledges by ISBN: 9781000921298
The Mental Health of Gifted Intelligent Machines : AI and the Mirror of Human Psychology by ISBN: 9781003284482
Post-Pandemic Welfare and Social Work : Re-imagining the New Normal by ISBN: 9781000921540
Social Work Practice in the Addictions by ISBN: 9781461453574Publication Date: 2012-12-09
Social Work: the Basics by ISBN: 9781000739053Publication Date: 2022-10-25
Social Work with Drug, Alcohol and Substance Misusers by ISBN: 9781446294918
Social Work with the Aged and Their Families by ISBN: 9781412863827
Finding Search Terms
Identify the key concepts in your thesis statement, as these will become your search terms.
- think up a few synonyms for your search terms; they may yield more results than your original search terms. All databases use "controlled vocabulary" which dictates what results will be retrieved—if the database does not recognize the search term you use, it may offer few results, even though there may be a lot of information on your topic. Use "Refine your Search," and "Find Similar Results" links to further target your search
- when searching for scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles, make sure you check that box on the search screens.
Starting your search
The Golden Library OneSearch enables you to search everything in the library at one time, including books, music, films, journal articles, eBooks, etc. If you are searching only for journal articles, using individual, subject-specific databases is highly recommended. (Look to the right for area specific databases.)
- To search everything at once, enter your search term in the box
- At the left-hand sidebar, limit your search by format.
- For eBooks, click eBook box in the left-hand sidebar, then the title link and the "View eBook" link
- For print books, films, music, etc., click the appropriate box(es) in the left-hand sidebar, then the title link and look for location code, call number and availability.
If you are searching for materials not held at ENMU, use the WorldCat search.To request a part (article, chapter) or all of a resource (whole book), please use the Interlibrary Loan program, information found in the Interlibrary Loan tab above.