Anthropology

The Golden Library OneSearch enables you to search everything in the library at one time, including books, music, films, journal articles, eBooks, etc. If you are searching only for journal articles, using individual, subject-specific databases is highly recommended.

• To search everything at once, enter your search term in the box
• At the left-hand sidebar, limit your search by format.
  • For eBooks, click eBook box in the left-hand sidebar, then the title link and the "View eBook" link
  • For print books, films, music, etc., click the appropriate box(es) in the left-hand sidebar, then the title link and look for location code, call number and availability.

If you are searching for materials not held at ENMU, use the WorldCat search.To request a part (article, chapter) or all of a resource (whole book), please use the Interlibrary Loan program, information found in the Interlibrary Loan tab above.

• Broadest search: You can do a Golden Library OneSearch to search all electronically-available journals and databases. This can be done from the library homepage or in the box in the top left of this page.
• Narrower search: You can search within a specific database. This can be done clicking the Library Databases button on the library homepage. You can then narrow your search by changing the drop-down menus. (You can also just look at the Databases for Agriculture Research box above.)
• Narrowest search: You can search the A-Z list of electronic journals and either search for a particular journal, browse alphabetically, or narrow it down to a particular subject. This can be done clicking the Resources tab on the top of the library homepage, then clicking E-Journals. E-journals held by the Golden Library include:

[Note: Google Scholar is a Google search through peer-reviewed sources, but you may find results that are not held by ENMU. You can request those articles through Interlibrary Loan.]

While the internet can be a useful starting point for research, many students struggle with locating quality websites related to their areas. The following websites can be useful starting points for research. 

• Abzu: This website states it is a "guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation" of material relating to the Ancient Near East and Mediterranean. The site allows for searching by subject, title, keyword, and author. Or researchers can browse articles by author. 
• American Association of Biological Anthropologist: Established in 1930, the AABA is "the world's leading professional organization for biological anthropologist." 
• Anthropology.net: Designed to promote anthropology discussion, research, and stewardship to "all segments of society." The website allows access to current and archived articles. 
• The Archaeology Channel: Created by the Archaeological Legacy Institute The Archaeology Chanel is a website designated to the promotion of archaeology education through the use of streaming media. Researchers can search for topics by format (video, and audio). One nice feature of the site is the "Map," researchers can use the map search to look for videos about a specific region.
• Archaeology Southwest: Compiles archaeological information for dissemination promoting a holistic approach to the preservation of cultural heritage places location. Articles on the site can be viewed in PDF or hard copy formats.
• National Association of State Archaeologist: A directory of State Archaeologist.
• Human Origins Database: Researchers need to setup an account to access 
• National Parks Service: Archaeology Program: Good resource for links to federal laws and guidelines concerning archaeology. Website has various ways to search for sites in the US. 
• National Archaeological Database: Only the "permits" link works on this site. Still useful to learn the history of archaeology permits in the US.
• Smithsonian Institution Human Origins Initiative: The Human Origins Initiative explores all what it is to be human and how we got here.

Start with Library Research Guides.

Take a look at this start-to-finish Guide to Research from the librarians at Davenport University.