Art

New Website for Campus Art

A new website displays artwork on the Portales campus that is owned by the university. Current records show the newest statue acquisitions around the Golden Student Success Center and artwork from the Works Progress Administration (WPA) in the 20th century. More art will be added throughout the year.

University personnel may be loaned work from the University Art Collection for display in their ENMU-Portales office/building. Preview and selection of artwork is by appointment only. Painting selection may be made by appointment. To make an appointment, visit enmu.edu/DisplayArt.  For questions, contact Bryan Hahn at bryan.hahn@enmu.edu or 575.218.2189. 

The Golden Library OneSearch enables you to search everything in the library at one time, including books, music, films, journal articles, eBooks, etc. If you are searching only for journal articles, using individual, subject-specific databases is highly recommended. (Look in the left bar or CDIS-specific databases.)

• To search everything at once, enter your search term in the box
• At the left-hand sidebar, limit your search by format.
  • For eBooks, click eBook box in the left-hand sidebar, then the title link and the "View eBook" link
  • For print books, films, music, etc., click the appropriate box(es) in the left-hand sidebar, then the title link and look for location code, call number and availability.

If you are searching for materials not held at ENMU, use the WorldCat search.To request a part (article, chapter) or all of a resource (whole book), please use the Interlibrary Loan program, information found in the Interlibrary Loan tab above.

Need more help? Try this guide with research tips.

Artstor is now embedded in JSTOR: 3.2+ million images can be narrowed by date, classification, country, and collection. You can organize and annotate the content you find on JSTOR, and export, present, or share it from there. More information on the features can be found on JSTOR’s informational page.

[Note: Google Scholar is a Google search through peer-reviewed sources, but you may find results that are not held by ENMU. You can request those articles through Interlibrary Loan.]

You have two options for journal articles: print or electronic.

1. Print: Print Journals are located on the second floor of the Golden Student Success Center in collapsible shelving. Patrons may access them any time the building is open. Below is a list of print Art journals.
   • American artist
   • Art and archaeology
   • ID : magazine of international design
   • Lürzer's int'l archive
   • Metropolitan Museum of Art  Bulletin
   • New American paintings
   • New Mexico architecture
   • Popular photography
   • Pottery Southwest
   • Sculpture
   • Southwest art
2. Electronic:
   • You can do a Golden Library OneSearch to search all electronically-available journals and databases. This can be done from the library homepage or above. Be sure to check the Peer reviewed (scholarly) only box to return academic articles.
   • You can search within a specific database. This can be done clicking the Library Databases button on the library homepage or the Databases for Art Research box above. You can then narrow your search by changing the first drop-down menu from All Subjects to Art. (You can also just look at the Databases for Art Research box to the left.)
   • You can search the A-Z list of electronic journals and either search for a particular journal, browse alphabetically, or narrow it down to a particular subject. This can be done clicking the eJournals link on the homepage under the Find section.

Sometimes, it's nice to just wander the shelves looking for just the right book, flipping through to gauge the contents. The book collection is organized according to Library of Congress Call Numbers. Where to start? Call numbers that start with the letter N are for fine arts numbers. You can browse the call number scheme to narrow down where you want to search here. Call numbers that start with TR are photography numbers. Of course, you may want to browse some other sections for inspiration or design ideas. The full Library of Congress Classification Outline can be found here.

The Art Space

Contact: Scott Golem
Phone: 575.562.2162
Email: scott.golem@enmu.edu
Purpose: To further excellence in art and design as broadly defined discipline, strategic tools for business, and community building for art and design at ENMU.

Clayhounds

Contact: Greg Senn
Phone: 575.562.2687
Email: greg.senn@enmu.edu
Purpose: The purpose for this organization shall be to promote the interest and participation in clay as an art form.