Ask a Librarian
Librarian
Library Search
Guidelines for the Use of Fish in Resesarch
Print Book Call Numbers for Biology
Library books are shelved under the Library of Congress subject system, which uses letters and numbers to give each book a unique identifying call number. The Library of Congress system's call numbers for Biology are all in the Q sections. (See Library of Congress Classification Outline).
- Q: General Science
- QH: Natural History, Biology
- QK: Botany
- QL: Zoology
- QM: Human Anatomy
- QP: Physiology
- QR: Microbiology
- Genetics: 426-470
- Reproduction: 471-489
- Plant Anatomy: 641-673
- Plant Physiology: 710-899
- Animal Behavior and Psychology: 750-795
- Anatomy: 801-950
- Embryology: 951-991
- Human Embryology: 601-691
- Neurophysiology: 351-495
- Animal Biochemistry: 501-801
- Experimental Pharmacology: 901-981
- Virology: 355-484
Library Databases for Biology Research
-
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new windowU.S. Department of Agriculture's Nat. Agricultural Library bib.recordsThis database contains bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970 and includes more than 4.8 million citations. The citations are comprised of journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
-
American Society for Microbiology Journals This link opens in a new windowASM advances the microbial sciences through conferences, publications, certifications and educational opportunities. It enhances laboratory capacity around the globe through training and resources. It provides a network for scientists in academia, industry and clinical settings. Additionally, ASM promotes a deeper understanding of the microbial sciences to diverse audiences.
-
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowIndexes 50+ annual reviews throughout the natural & social sciences,
contains full-text of recent annual reviews of the life sciences, psychology, anthropology and more. -
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowBiological Abstracts®, produced by Clarivate Analytics (formerly Thomson Scientific), is a complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from more than 4,000 journals internationally. This database contains over 14 million archival records from as far back as 1926, with more than 370,000 citations added each year
-
Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowEnvironment Complete contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThe JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection is the complete and full access collection. This resource provides immediate access to all archival journal collections including: Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability. It also includes primary sources collections such as: 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
-
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new windowScience Reference Source provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business.
At BMC we are dedicated to publishing the best open access journals across our portfolio of over 250 titles and are always striving to drive progress in biology, health sciences and medicine.
Our journal portfolio extends across the microbial sciences, with several primary and review journals to choose from. We guide you through the publication process with our expert team here to support you.
Our journal portfolio extends across the microbial sciences, with several primary and review journals to choose from. We guide you through the publication process with our expert team here to support you.
PLOS is a mission-driven open science publisher covering all scientific disciplines with a focus on fundamental and applied research across life, health, sustainability, engineering, and technology. When you choose a PLOS journal you are putting integrity first and supporting an organization committed to research that is robust, reliable, and accessible to all. We offer processes to ensure the science is rigorous, practices to make sure research is shared and reused, policies that are equitable, and innovations in scholarly communications.
The Online Writing Lab (the Purdue OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects. Teachers and trainers may use this material for in-class and out-of-class instruction.
Find relevant research, identify top experts and gain strategic insights with Scopus metrics and analytical tools.
Collection Development Policy
Golden Library's primary function is to support ENMU's teaching and learning mission. Library holdings consist of a basic liberal arts collection with emphasis in education, humanities, history, science and business. Periodical databases, eBooks and interlibrary loan provide access to other collections.
To see the entire collection development policy and to find your department's liaison or representative, please see the collection development page.