Ebook Collections
- EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowContains a large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowA database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
- SpringerLink This link opens in a new windowAccess journals, books and other publications in the scientific, technical, and medical disciplines.
Interesting Books
The Magic of Tiny Business by
The Magic of Tiny Business is the breath of fresh air for business owners and entrepreneurs who aren't willing to compromise their personal values in favor of growth and maximizing profit. Tiny doesn't refer to size. Instead, it's a mindset. Like a tiny house where there's limited space for "stuff", a tiny business requires that you examine, prioritize and work with what you value, eliminating what you don't. We live in a time when we feel trapped by work that doesn't allow us to live our purpose, use our passions or offer our gifts and leaves us feeling overwhelmed by messages to go big or go broke. Rowe uses the story of ECOBAGS, which she started as a new mother at her kitchen table, as an example of a successful Tiny Business. She offers simple rules such as; *
ISBN: 9781523094783Publication Date: 2018-05-08
Never Too Old to Get Rich by
Start a successful business mid-life When you think of someone launching a start-up, the image of a twenty-something techie probably springs to mind. However, Gen Xers and Baby Boomers are just as likely to start businesses and reinvent themselves later in life. Never Too Old to Get Rich is an exciting roadmap for anyone age 50+ looking to be their own boss and launch their dream business. This book provides up-to-date resources and guidance for launching a business when you're 50+. There are snappy profiles of more than a dozen successful older entrepreneurs, describing their inspirational journeys launching businesses and nonprofits, followed by Q&A conversations, and pull-out boxes containing action steps. The author walks you through her three-part fitness program: guidelines for becoming financially fit, physically fit, and spiritually fit, before delving more deeply into how would-be entrepreneurs over 50 can succeed. * Describes how you can find capital to start your own business * Offers encouraging stories of real people who have become their own bosses and succeeded as entrepreneurs * Written by PBS Next Avenue's entrepreneur expert, Kerry Hannon * Teaches you how to start your own business Never Too Old to Get Rich is the ideal book for older readers looking to pursue new business ventures later in life.
ISBN: 1119547911Publication Date: 2019-06-17
Business Continuity and the Pandemic Threat by
Considering the pandemic threat in a business continuity context I thoroughly enjoyed reading Clark's book which is written in a style that makes it easy for anyone to understand without requiring a background in medicine or business. I have been involved in disaster management planning for the past ten years and yet I still found this book both enlightening and extremely informative. Dr Tanya Melillo MD, MSc(Dist), PhD This informative book is written in an easy going and conversational manner, but the message it brings to the table is critical to understanding the meaning of any forthcoming pandemic threat and considerations of how to mitigate the effects, where possible, to you and your organisation Owen Gregory MSc BA (Hons) MBCI MBCS The increase in commercial aviation and international travel means that pandemics now spread faster than ever before. Seasonal flu pandemics, zoonotic contagions such as Ebola, swine flu and avian flu (e.g. H5N1 and H7N9), and respiratory syndromes such as SARS and MERS have affected millions worldwide. Add the ever-present threat of terrorism and biological warfare, and the possibility of large proportions of your workforce being incapacitated is a lot stronger than you might think. You may well have prepared for limited business interruptions, but how would your business fare if 50% or more of your employees, including those you rely on to execute your business continuity plan, were afflicted by illness - or worse? Although nothing can be done to prevent pandemics, their impact can be significantly mitigated. Business Continuity and the Pandemic Threat explains how. Product overview The book is divided into two parts, which examine the pandemic threat and explain how businesses can address it: Part I: Understanding the Threat The first, shorter, part provides the reader with a detailed overview of the challenge that pandemic threats can present. It uses historical examples (such as the 1918-19 Spanish Flu outbreak, which killed 50 million) to illustrate how pandemics can have devastating effects not only on the global population but also on critical infrastructure, the global economy and society. Part II: Preparing for the Inevitable The second part of the book considers the actions that can be taken at a global, national, corporate and individual level to mitigate the risk and limit the damage of pandemic incidents. It provides guidance on creating and validating a pandemic plan, and explains how it integrates with a business continuity plan. Comprehensive case studies are provided throughout. Topics covered include: The World Health Organisation (WHO)'s pandemic phases and the Centre for Disease Control (CDC)'s Pandemic Severity Index Preventive control measures Crisis management and the composition of a crisis management team Dealing with cash-flow, staff absenteeism, home working and supply chain management Communications and media plans Pandemic issues for HR The threat to critical national infrastructure Health service contingency plans and first responders' business continuity plans The provision of vaccines and antiviral medicines, including relevant ethical issues Take your business continuity plan to the next level: ensure your organisation survives a pandemic with a substantially depleted workforce. Buy Business Continuity and the Pandemic Threat today. About the author A Fellow of the Institute of Business Continuity Management and Member of the Business Continuity Institute, Robert A. Clark is also a Fellow of the British Computer Society and a Member of the Security Institute. His career includes 15 years with IBM and 11 years with Fujitsu Services working with clients on BCM related assignments. He is now a freelance business continuity consultant at www.bcm-consultancy.com.
ISBN: 9781849288194Publication Date: 2016-06-07
Values by
What matters to us? One way of answering that question is through the lens of values, which have a powerful influence on our attitudes and behaviours. Yet it can be difficult for businesses to realize the true potential of values, which is to engage staff, customers and suppliers in an emotional way that touches on their own core motivations. Drawing on a range of case studies worldwide, including "profit with purpose" businesses such as co-operatives, this short guide reveals how to make a success of values. By unpacking what we mean by values and ethics, and setting out a series of practical approaches, Ed Mayo presents how values can become a natural part of commercial life. This book identifies both the pitfalls and the potential of bringing values into the heart of an organization, from a bank that responds to an ethical crisis to a fast-growing worker co-operative founded on the values of equality. The values that guide your business are not necessarily the ones that are written down, or that you would expect. There is no one right or wrong set of values, but there is power and potential in making the most of the values that are right for the business you are in. By reading Values: How to Bring Values to Life in Your Business, you will find out more about the business that you are, and the business that you could be.
Call Number: HF5387 .M39 2016ISBN: 9781783535347Publication Date: 2016-10-10
Databases for Business Research
- Agriculture Collection This link opens in a new windowAgriculture Collection provides a comprehensive view of agriculture and related fields. The database provides access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics: Economy at a Glance This link opens in a new windowEconomic statistics with searchable map. Open access.
- Business Collection This link opens in a new windowCoverage includes accounting, economics, finance marketing, management, business theory and strategy. Journals contained in this collection are business and trade publications from around the world including regional news publications.
- Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new windowInformation on companies, industries and more presented in news, statistical data and in-depth reports. Formerly the Business & Company Resource Center..
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowThe database provides a collection of bibliographic and full-text content. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly journals dating back to 1886 and searchable cited references for more than 1,300 journals are included.
- Cabells Journalytics and Predatory Reports This link opens in a new windowCabells directories of journals in 18 disciplines including accounting, economics, education, finance, management, and marketing. Entries include information on style, format, topic areas, review process, acceptance rate, and publication fees charged by each journal. Note: Cabell’s Analytics has changed the name of their Blacklist tab to Predatory Reports. As the new name suggests, this is a list of journals that have complaints against them or are under investigation.
- Computer Science Collection This link opens in a new windowGale OneFile: Computer Science. provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
- Environmental Studies and Policy Collection This link opens in a new windowEnvironmental Studies and Policy Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
- Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection This link opens in a new windowHospitality, Tourism, and Leisure Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.
- Insurance and Liability Collection This link opens in a new windowInsurance and Liability Collection provides access to academic journals and trade publications covering the insurance industry and topics such as labor relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more. The database offers content of interest to individual property owners and multinational corporations alike.
- International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary This link opens in a new windowMacroeconomics, Globalization, Development, Trade, Aid, Technical Assistance, Demographics, Emerging Markets, Policy Advice, Poverty Reduction.
- Regional Business News This link opens in a new windowThis database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
- Small Business Resource Center This link opens in a new windowComprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business. Offers full-text periodicals and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books. Users also have the ability to search within specific ‘Business Topics’ and ‘Business Types’ relevant to their needs.
Careers
- JobNow This link opens in a new windowLive, anytime, anywhere job assistance, including up-to-date nation-wide and local job search engines, professional resume critique and proven interview techniques. Experience personalized career center seamlessly integrated with advanced virtual technology to help job seekers of diverse backgrounds and needs.
- O*NET This link opens in a new windowWelcome to your tool for career exploration and job analysis!
O*NET OnLine has detailed descriptions of the world of work for use by job seekers, workforce development and HR professionals, students, researchers, and more! - Entrepreneurship Collection This link opens in a new windowIdeal for business schools and entrepreneurs, Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship is updated daily and provides insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Users find more than 500 subject-appropriate, active, full-text periodicals, including: Beverage Industry, Black Enterprise, Economist, Entrepreneurship: Theory and Practice, HR Magazine, Real Estate Weekly, Restaurant Business, Tea & Coffee Trade Journal, and more.
Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
This resource combined the older Small Business and Small Business Resource Center collections.
Laura Wight
She, her, hers