Archives and Special Collections Librarian
Mailing address:
ENMU Station 32
1500 S Ave K
Portales, NM 88130
Library Ebooks
1,000 Incredible Costume and Cosplay Ideas
1,000 Incredible Costume and Cosplay Ideas provides a broad and detailed glimpse into the ingenious artistry and attention to detail behind some of the most fabulous costumes you can find. Featuring costumes from popular convention-goers to professional craftsman, this stunning, photo-filled book by Joey Marsocci and Allison DeBlasio of Dr. Grymm Laboratories walks you through scads of your favorite characters as imagined and created by fans.
Costuming Cosplay : Dressing the Imagination
Costuming Cosplay takes us from elaborately crafted DIY costumes to online fandoms, examining how the practice of portraying fictional characters from popular culture through dress and performance has become a creative means of expressing and playing with different identities.With an approach that ranges from admiration and role-play to gender performance, this is the first book to fully examine the subculture and costume of the Cosplay phenomenon.
Cosplay in Libraries
Cosplay, comics, anime, and geek culture have exploded into the mainstream over recent years and have resulted in a thriving community of costume enthusiasts and pop culture fans. Today's cosplayers find inspiration on the pages of comics, classic literature, and even history, as well as film, television, and video games to inform their creative and oftentimes elaborate ensembles. They utilize all manner of materials and techniques including 3D printers, thermoplastics, craft foam, fabric and more to design their costumes and props. Libraries on the leading edge are already embracing this new worldwide sensation by integrating cosplay into their programming and events. Learn all about the world of cosplay and how you can host cosplay events, workshops, makerspaces, clubs, and more in your library! This one-stop guide includes quotes and interviews with librarians who are incorporating cosplay into their programming as well as with cosplayers. You'll also find 32 full-color photographs of cosplay in action to give you both ideas and inspiration for getting started!
A Guide to Film and TV Cosplay
Learn about the history of the hobby (it's been around longer than you'd think!), get your head around picking you're first costume, find out how about all the amazing skills people are using to make these costumes, and perhaps even try a few yourself. Who knows, you might be rocking our as Captain Marvel or Flynn Rider at the next big comic con! (And don't worry, there's a guide to comic con in here too.)
The Hero's Closet
This essential handbook offers detailed, step-by-step instructions that cover the basics of sewing costumes (which often require skills not found in standard sewing guides) to help even the most novice sewists create the costumes of their dreams. A skilled crafter and avid cosplayer, Gillian Conahan walks readers through finding inspiration online and through their fandom; shares insight into translating character art into real-world garments; and offers advice on pattern selection, alterations, fabrics, and embellishment techniques. The book also features 11 original step-by-step basic patterns--such as jumpsuits, jackets, and pants. It then suggests ideas for mixing and matching these basics to create costumes of all styles, including superheroes, pirates, elves, school girls, and adventurers
Where to get supplies?
You have the ideas. You've watched videos and read the books. Now you just need the materials! (Note: Listing of a vendor does not indicate support for that business.)
- Thrift stores: You don't need to sew or craft a costume from scratch. Whether you purchase individual pieces or the whole outfit, thrift stores can be excellent places to source supplies for your costume. Perhaps you found a great jacket and you just need to add paint. Maybe that shirt will be a good layer under your armor.
- Cosplay Supplies website: They supply a variety of cosplay materials as well as Worbla, a moldable thermoplastic.
- JoAnn Fabrics: JoAnn Fabrics has many patterns of clothing and costumes. They also sell the Yaya Han Cosplay Collection of fabric.
- Replica Prop Forum: Community forums about props, costumes, and models. Forum threads may indicate good locations to source project materials.
- Dick Blick: Art supplies company. Have a category for cosplay supplies.
YouTube Tutorials & Other Resources
- CoCoVid Master Playlist#Cocovid was an online, interactive multiday event with live panels and other videos with members of the Youtube costuming community (known as CosTube). This took the place of Costume College, a 3 day conference with classes and events for all aspects of costuming. 138 videos!
- Cosplay 101 Sewing with MangoSireneCosplay 101 is a help series designed for beginner cosplayers and those looking to get involved with this hobby.
- CosTubeYouTube tag dedicated to costuming
- createscifi YouTube ChannelCreate Sci-Fi is prop making, costume building & basic filmmaking tutorials for sci-fi film, web series & cosplay. Includes a playlist with costume making tutorials.
- Historical Costumes with Angela ClaytonA hobbyist seamstress and costume maker who makes several historically inspired pieces.
- MyBodyModelBody-positive app that makes custom fashion croquis templates (body outline sketches) with your real body measurements.
- Replica Prop ForumCommunity forums about props, costumes, and models. Forum threads may indicate good locations to source project materials.
- Upcyling Thrift Store Finds with coolirpaDIY Fashion and upcycling old clothes into something new. She has cosplay and costuming playlists.
- Willow CreativeA maker that creates props and costumes from her favorite videogames, pop culture events and shows, as independent content creator or on behalf of companies and game developers such as Jagex, Bungie, Blizzard Entertainment and Xbox. Much of her work involves 3D printing, foamcrafting, LEDs and mechatronics. She provides some patterns for download and some for sale.