LibGuides: Communicative Disorders: Research

Databases for CDIS Research

Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection is the complete and full access collection. This resource provides immediate access to all archival journal collections including: Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability. It also includes primary sources collections such as: 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants.
MedOne ComSci This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MedOne ComSci is an electronic resource for undergraduate and graduate students in communication science, speech pathology, and audiology as well as professionals practicing in those disciplines. Content is accessible by a simple but powerful searching tool, or simply by browsing.
This powerful platform enables you to search for cases, confirm references for your writing, find visuals for your presentations, and much more! From the publisher you trust, MedOne ComSci will be your go-to reference for udiology and speech language pathology content and will change the way you obtain information - making it easier, faster, and more efficient than ever before.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business.

[Note: Google Scholar is a Google search through peer-reviewed sources, but you may find results that are not held by ENMU. You can request those articles through Interlibrary Loan.]

Starting your search

The Golden Library OneSearch enables you to search everything in the library at one time, including books, music, films, journal articles, eBooks, etc. If you are searching only for journal articles, using individual, subject-specific databases is highly recommended.

To search everything at once, enter your search term in the box
At the left-hand sidebar, limit your search by format.
- For eBooks, click eBook box in the left-hand sidebar, then the title link and the "View eBook" link
- For print books, films, music, etc., click the appropriate box(es) in the left-hand sidebar, then the title link and look for location code, call number and availability.

If you are searching for materials not held at ENMU, use the WorldCat search.To request a part (article, chapter) or all of a resource (whole book), please use the Interlibrary Loan program, information found in the Interlibrary Loan tab above.

Need more help? Try this guide with research tips.

"I need a journal article..."

You have two options for journal articles: print or electronic.

Print: Print Journals are located on the second floor of the Golden Student Success Center in collapsible shelving. Patrons may access them any time the building is open. Below is a list of print journals related to Communicative Disorders.
- Acta oto-laryngologica
- Acta oto-laryngologica: suppliment
- American journal of health promotion : AJHP
- American journal of physiology
- Annals of otology, rhinology & laryngology
- Annals of otology, rhinology & laryngology. Supplement
- Applied psycholinguistics
- Archives of otolaryngology
- Archives of otolaryngology--head & neck surgery
- Ear and hearing
- Hearing journal
- Hearing professional
- Journal of child language
- Journal of fluency disorders
- Journal of laryngology and otology
- Journal of speech and hearing disorders
- Journal of speech, language, and hearing research : JSLHR
- Laryngoscope
- Learning disabilities research & practice : a publication of the Division for Learning Disabilities, Council for Exceptional Children
- Seminars in speech and language
Electronic:
- You can do a Golden Library OneSearch to search all electronically-available journals and databases. This can be done from the library homepage or in the box above.
- You can search within a specific database. This can be done clicking the Library Databases button on the library homepage. You can then narrow your search by changing the drop-down menus. (You can also just look at the Databases for CDIS Research box to the left.)
- You can search the A-Z list of electronic journals and either search for a particular journal, browse alphabetically, or narrow it down to a particular subject. This can be done clicking the Resources tab on the top of the library homepage, then clicking E-Journals.