Ask a Librarian
Librarian
Resources for Psychology
-
APA Handbook of Ethics in Psychology
by
Discussions of ethics in psychology often focus primarily on misconduct, punishment, and legal sanctions, and too often ignore aspirations, values, principles, and virtues. The net effect of this unbalanced approach creates an atmosphere in which psychologists have viewed ethics as unpleasant and frightening, instead of inspiring and uplifting. Psychologists naturally must be concerned about laws, codes, and regulations, but these documents do not constitute the beginning and end of the conversation on ethics. The editors of this 2-volume reference propose that ethics is best viewed as a striving toward the highest ethical ideals, not just as an injunction against rule violation--a perspective they refer to as "positive ethics" or "active ethics"--and they encourage psychologists to elevate their ethical observance above the minimal standards found in law and enforceable ethics codes. Against this backdrop, handbook contributors investigate the complexities of ethical behavior in clinical, educational, forensic, health, and "tele-" psychology. Several chapters zero in on the teaching of ethics and on ethically minded research relevant to professionals working in experimental psychology. By comparison with many ethics textbooks, this two-volume handbook covers a wider range of subjects and pursues them in greater detail. For instance, it reflects important recent advances in research and technology that present new opportunities and challenges for practice and scholarship. Also, it takes a serious look into some burgeoning new areas such as life coaching and providing services over the Internet. These are just two examples of developments that present fascinating, novel ethical questions that deserve attention. Significant perspectives presented in the handbook include: Ethics is more than the knowledge of the laws, rules, and regulations that govern the profession and discipline of psychology. Competent psychologists rely on overarching ethical theories, as well as laws and regulations, when they live up to their highest ethical ideals. Attention to ethical issues is especially important as psychologists move into new and increasingly complex areas of practice.
Call Number: BF76.4 .A635 2012ISBN: 9781433810008Publication Date: 2011-09-15 -
APA Handbook of Psychology and Juvenile Justice
by
The APA Handbook of Psychology and Juvenile Justice consolidates and advances knowledge about the legal, scientific, and applied foundations of the juvenile justice system. In addition to an overview of the area, it contains chapters in the following sections: Relevant Law (focusing on important legislation and on U.S. Supreme Court decisions from Kent and Gault to Eddings, Roper, Graham, and Miller-Jackson, and on the relevant legal theory of preventive justice for adolescents) Human Development (describing research on adolescent development and brain development as they apply to behavior in the juvenile justice context) Patterns of Offending (including evidence about offending in juveniles and the persistence vs. desistance into adulthood) Risk Factors for Offending (evidence about risk factors for juvenile offending including Risk-Need-Responsivity theory, juvenile psychopathy, substance abuse, gangs, and trauma/adverse experience, as well as threat assessment and bullying prevention in schools) Forensic Assessment (assessing risk, needs/amenability, and sophistication-maturity as part of legal decisions on commitment, transfer, and reverse transfer, as well as legal decisions on Miranda waiver capacity and competence to stand trial) Interventions (evidence on risk-reducing interventions, both in the community and in residential placement, including for specialized offending of sexual offenders) Training and Ethics (including the updated MacArthur curriculum on adolescents in the juvenile justice system and an analysis of the ethical issues particular to juvenile justice)
Call Number: HV9104 .A822 2016ISBN: 9781433819674Publication Date: 2015-08-01 -
APA Handbook of Adolescent and Young Adult Development
by
This handbook offers comprehensive coverage of the topics that are relevant to the field of adolescent and young adult development. The APA Handbook of Adolescent and Young Adult Development reviews the many factors that impact youth development across varying themes including biological underpinnings, cognitive and emotive processes, development through social contexts and roles, diversity in adolescence and the transition to adulthood, risk behaviors and psychopathology, positive youth development, intervention and policy, and new directions. The expert co-editors have recruited a new generation of top scholars as chapter authors to ensure that this comprehensive guide is thorough, detailed, and invaluable to readers. The handbook is also integrative and incorporates diversity so that clinicians, graduate students, and researchers can gain further understanding and apply this knowledge to a wider range of the population.
Call Number: BF724 .A66 2023ISBN: 9781433833144Publication Date: 2022-11-01 -
APA Handbook of Health Psychology
by
"This three-volume set covers the foundations of the field of Health Psychology, issues relating to public health, and clinical approaches"--
Call Number: R726.7 .A65 2025ISBN: 9781433841743Publication Date: 2024-06-01 -
APA Handbook of Psychopharmacology
by
The APA Handbook of Psychopharmacology provides a comprehensive working knowledge of basic pharmacology and psychopharmacology, examines the utility of pharmacotherapy for addressing different dimensions of human suffering, and highlights the broader professional and social issues surrounding this work in a language that is suitable for a broad readership. This 33-chapter handbook is designed as a library reference that captures the most current research to date on pharmacotherapy strategies for addressing emotional and behavioral conditions, as an informative guide for educators and students to strengthen their understanding of the scientific and professional issues associated with the field of psychopharmacology, and as an invaluable desk reference for both researchers and practicing clinicians. Chapters cover fundamental principles of pharmacology and psychopharmacology; psychopharmacology for the treatment of psychological disorders, substance use disorders, and addiction; and issues pertaining to professional training, policy, and industry. Most chapters include a tool kit of resources, providing recommended references that clinicians can use in practice and as educational and teaching tools to stay abreast of the latest developments on the pharmacological treatments for each disorder.
Call Number: RC483 .A63 2019ISBN: 9781433830754Publication Date: 2019-03-01
Databases
-
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new windowAcademic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
-
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowIndexes 50+ annual reviews throughout the natural & social sciences,
contains full-text of recent annual reviews of the life sciences, psychology, anthropology and more. -
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowEducation Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowThe JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection is the complete and full access collection. This resource provides immediate access to all archival journal collections including: Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability. It also includes primary sources collections such as: 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants.
-
Psychology Collection This link opens in a new windowPsychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThe PsycINFO® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new windowPubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Journals
-
Acta PsychologicaActa Psychologica publishes research studies, review articles and special issues in any area of experimental psychology.
-
Annual Review of PsychologyCovers the significant developments in the field of psychology, including: biological bases of behavior, sensation and perception, cognitive processes, animal learning and behavior, human development, psychopathology, clinical and counseling psychology, social psychology, personality, environmental psychology, community psychology, and more.
-
Brain and CognitionPresents research articles, theoretical papers, critical reviews, case histories, historical articles, and scholarly notes that are relevant to all aspects of human neuropsychology other than language or communication.
-
Brain and CognitionPresents research articles, theoretical papers, critical reviews, case histories, historical articles, and scholarly notes that are relevant to all aspects of human neuropsychology other than language or communication.
-
Journal of Applied PsychologyEmphasizes the publication of original investigations that contribute new knowledge and understanding to fields of applied psychology.
-
Journal of Cognitive NeuroscienceArticles about brain-behavior interaction and the lively interchange among the mind sciences.
-
Journal of Experimental Social PsychologyResearch and theory on social interaction and related phenomena, including social motivation, social cognition, attitude and belief processes and intergroup and intragroup processes; theoretical analyses, literature reviews and methodological notes.
-
Psychological InquiryPublishes articles in the areas of personality, social, developmental, health, and clinical psychology.
-
Psychological ResearchIncludes information which emphasizes the theoretical implications of the research reported.
-
Psychotherapy and PsychosomaticsThe journal features editorials and review articles on currnet and controversial issues, original investigations of psychotherepy research and on the interface between medicine and behavioral sciences.
Professional Organizations
-
American Psychological AssociationWebsite of the American Psychological Association. Has information about careers, graduate programs, topics in psychology, and much more.
-
New Mexico Psychological AssociationThe New Mexico Psychological Association is a professional association of psychologists licensed in the state of New Mexico.
-
American Counseling Association (ACA)ACA is dedicated to the growth and enhancement of the counseling profession. Website includes resources for students intent on starting a career in counseling, a Career Center with articles, job listings, and more.
-
National Association of School PsychologistsThe National Association of School Psychologists (NASP) represents and supports the profession of school psychology by advancing effective practices to improve students' learning, behavior and mental health, and by maintaining essential standards for ethics and practice.
-
New Mexico Association of School PsychologistsAs part of its mission, NMASP is dedicated to representing the interests of school psychologists and other educational professionals providing services to the citizens of New Mexico, as well as being a mechanism for disseminating information, policies, and standards established by the parent organization, NASP.
Videos
-
Beck Institute for Cognitive Behavior Therapy (YouTube)Beck Institute for Cognitive Behavior Therapy is a non-profit organization founded in 1994 by Aaron Beck, MD and Judith Beck, PhD to encourage the growth and dissemination of CBT throughout the world.
-
The Counselling Chanel (YouTube)The Counselling Channel produces videos about self-help, counselling, psychotherapy and a range of other talking therapies.
-
The Counselling Tutor (YouTube)The Counselling Tutor channel is dedicated to providing additional study support for learners undertaking counselling courses, qualified counselors or anyone who has an interest in counselling theory and personal development.
-
PsychotherapyNet (YouTube)A library of over 300 training videos featuring the leading practitioners in the field.
Professional Magazines
These are different from academic journals in both focus and review process. While they may not meet your professor's requirements for research, they provide important information about the latest trends in a given field written by practitioners for practitioners.
-
APS ObserverThe Observer serves to educate readers on matters affecting the research and application of psychology.
-
Eye on Psi ChiMagazine of Psi Chi, the international honor society for psychology that focuses on current issues in psychology, personal and career development, and advice from established professionals.
-
Monitor on PsychologyProfessional magazine (not an academic journal) by the American Psychological Association discussing news, careers, ethics, and more.
-
The PsychologistAs the official monthly publication of The British Psychological Society, The Psychologist serves as a forum for communication, discussion and debate on a range of psychological topics.