Can't find what you are looking for?
If you need a specific article that we do not have in the catalog we still have you covered. You can make an Interlibrary Loan Request by clicking on the button below, creating an account, and filling out the request form. This link can also be found on the library's home page.
Databases for Psychology Research
The following databases contain academic journal, magazine, and/or newspaper articles plus e-books on many aspects of psychology. Results from these databases will show up in the Golden Library One Search under "everything", but some have extra features on their own sites.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Indexes 50+ annual reviews throughout the natural & social sciences,
contains full-text of recent annual reviews of the life sciences, psychology, anthropology and more. - Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection is the complete and full access collection. This resource provides immediate access to all archival journal collections including: Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences, Public Health Journals, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, and Sustainability. It also includes primary sources collections such as: 19th Century British Pamphlets, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and Global Plants. - Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Psychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users. - PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO® database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from periodicals in dozens of languages.
Note: You can use the list of PsycINFO Classification Codes to narrow the context of your search to a particular topical area. Select the code you want then add it to your search by using the Advanced Search mode. Enter the code in one of the search boxes and select CC Classification as the field. - PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
[Note: Google Scholar is a Google search through peer-reviewed sources, but you may find results that are not held by ENMU. You can request those articles through Interlibrary Loan.]
Major Psychology Journals
- Acta PsychologicaActa Psychologica publishes research studies, review articles and special issues in any area of experimental psychology.
- Annual Review of PsychologyCovers the significant developments in the field of psychology, including: biological bases of behavior, sensation and perception, cognitive processes, animal learning and behavior, human development, psychopathology, clinical and counseling psychology, social psychology, personality, environmental psychology, community psychology, and more.
- Brain and CognitionPresents research articles, theoretical papers, critical reviews, case histories, historical articles, and scholarly notes that are relevant to all aspects of human neuropsychology other than language or communication.
- CognitionCognition is an international journal that publishes theoretical and experimental papers on the study of the mind. It covers a wide variety of subjects concerning all the different aspects of cognition, ranging from biological and experimental studies to formal analysis.
- Journal of Applied PsychologyEmphasizes the publication of original investigations that contribute new knowledge and understanding to fields of applied psychology.
- Journal of Cognitive NeuroscienceArticles about brain-behavior interaction and the lively interchange among the mind sciences.
- Journal of Experimental Social PsychologyResearch and theory on social interaction and related phenomena, including social motivation, social cognition, attitude and belief processes and intergroup and intragroup processes; theoretical analyses, literature reviews and methodological notes.
- Psychological InquiryPublishes articles in the areas of personality, social, developmental, health, and clinical psychology.
- Psychological ResearchIncludes information which emphasizes the theoretical implications of the research reported.
- Psychotherapy and PsychosomaticsThe journal features editorials and review articles on currnet and controversial issues, original investigations of psychotherepy research and on the interface between medicine and behavioral sciences.
Professional Magazines
Professional magazines are different from academic journals in both focus and review processes. While they might not meet your professor's requirements for research, they provide important information about the latest trends in a given field written by practitioners for practitioners.
- APS ObserverThe Observer serves to educate readers on matters affecting the research and application of psychology.
- Eye on Psi ChiMagazine of Psi Chi, the international honor society for psychology that focuses on current issues in psychology, personal and career development, and advice from established professionals.
- Monitor on PsychologyProfessional magazine (not an academic journal) by the American Psychological Association discussing news, careers, ethics, and more.
- The PsychologistAs the official monthly publication of The British Psychological Society, The Psychologist serves as a forum for communication, discussion and debate on a range of psychological topics.
Database Tutorial Videos
Setting up RSS feed through OneSearch
Did you know that you can set up RSS feeds through our One Search to give you notifications about recently published articles in your field of interest? After entering your search terms, click on "share" at the top of the results page and then click on "RSS Feed". You will need to log in to enter your email address and can set the duration and frequency of your notifications.
