Can't find what you are looking for?
If you need a specific book that we do not have in the catalog we still have you covered. You can make an Interlibrary Loan Request by clicking on the button below, creating an account, and filling out the request form. This link can also be found on the library's home page.
Handbooks
Handbooks are excellent resources for finding foundational information about a topic. They are generally written by people in a field for people in that field, so the information is more in-depth and specific than a general encyclopedia. Here is a small selection of the handbooks the library has for the field of Psychology. To find similar materials try searching for "Topic" AND Handbook (remove quotation marks).
Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science, Theory and Method by
The essential reference for human development theory, updated and reconceptualized The Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science, a four-volume reference, is the field-defining work to which all others are compared. First published in 1946, and now in its Seventh Edition, the Handbook has long been considered the definitive guide to the field of developmental science. Volume 1, Theory and Method, presents a rich mix of classic and contemporary theoretical perspectives, but the dominant views throughout are marked by an emphasis on the dynamic interplay of all facets of the developmental system across the life span, incorporating the range of biological, cognitive, emotional, social, cultural, and ecological levels of analysis. Examples of the theoretical approaches discussed in the volume include those pertinent to human evolution, self regulation, the development of dynamic skills, and positive youth development. The research, methodological, and applied implications of the theoretical models discussed in the volume are presented. Understand the contributions of biology, person, and context to development within the embodied ecological system Discover the relations among individual, the social world, culture, and history that constitute human development Examine the methods of dynamic, developmental research Learn person-oriented methodological approaches to assessing developmental change The scholarship within this volume and, as well, across the four volumes of this edition, illustrate that developmental science is in the midst of a very exciting period. There is a paradigm shift that involves increasingly greater understanding of how to describe, explain, and optimize the course of human life for diverse individuals living within diverse contexts. This Handbook is the definitive reference for educators, policy-makers, researchers, students, and practitioners in human development, psychology, sociology, anthropology, and neuroscience.
ISBN: 9781118952979Publication Date: 2015-03-31
The Handbook of Forensic Psychology by
A revised new edition of one of the top references for forensic psychologists This top professional and academic reference in forensic psychology is an established presence as both a professional reference and graduate text. This Fourth Edition is completely revised and updated for the new and rapidly growing demands of the field to reflect the new tools available to, and functions required of, present-day practitioners. The new edition expands coverage of neuropsychological assessment, eyewitness testimony, ad jury competence and decision-making, including selection, process and authority. In addition, the new ethics guidelines approved by the American Psychological Association (APA) are included and interpreted. Updated to include reframed content and the introduction of new chapter topics and authors Ideal for professional forensic psychologists and graduate students Written by experts in the field, a clinical professor of psychiatry and an associate professor of mental health policy
ISBN: 9781118734711Publication Date: 2013-11-18
The Handbook of Humanistic Psychology by
The Handbook of Humanistic Psychology, 2e represents the latest scholarship in the field of humanistic psychology and psychotherapy. Set against trends toward psychological standardization and medicalization, the handbook provides a rich tapestry of reflection by the leading person-centered scholars of our time. Their range in topics is far-reaching--from the historical, theoretical, and methodological, to the spiritual, psychotherapeutic, and multicultural. Psychology is poised for a renaissance, and this handbook plays a critical role in that transformation. Increasingly, students and professionals rebel are looking for the fuller, deeper, and more personal psychological orientation that this handbook promotes.
ISBN: 9781452267746Publication Date: 2014-02-14
The Oxford Handbook of Identity Development by
Identity is defined in many different ways in various disciplines in the social sciences and sub-disciplines within psychology. The developmental psychological approach to identity is characterized by a focus on developing a sense of the self that is temporally continuous and unified across the different life spaces that individuals inhabit. Erikson proposed that the task of adolescence and young adulthood was to define the self by answering the question: Who Am I? There have been many advances in theory and research on identity development since Erikson's writing over fifty years ago, and the time has come to consolidate our knowledge and set an agenda for future research. The Oxford Handbook of Identity Development represents a turning point in the field of identity development research. Various, and disparate, groups of researchers are brought together to debate, extend, and apply Erikson's theory to contemporary problems and empirical issues. The result is a comprehensive and state-of-the-art examination of identity development that pushes the field in provocative new directions. Scholars of identity development, adolescent and adult development, and related fields, as well as graduate students, advanced undergraduates, and practitioners will find this to be an innovative, unique, and exciting look at identity development.
ISBN: 9780199936564Publication Date: 2014-12-01
The Wiley Handbook of Positive Clinical Psychology by
Edited by the founder of the field, this is the first handbook on positive clinical psychology--a revolutionary approach that places equal importance on both the positive and negative aspects of mental health and well-being. The first handbook on positive clinical psychology, a revolutionary approach that places equal importance on the positive and negative aspects of mental health and well-being Brings together new work from authorities in positive psychology and clinical psychology to offer an integrated examination of well-being as it relates to personality, psychopathology, psychological treatments, and more Discusses theory, research, and practice across a broad range of topics such as optimism, positive affect, well-being therapy, childhood well-being, evolutionary perspectives, and clinical implementation Contains essential information for researchers, instructors and practitioners in clinical psychology, positive psychology, mental health, and well-being in general
ISBN: 9781118468227Publication Date: 2016-04-21
The Wiley Handbook of Theoretical and Philosophical Psychology by
The Wiley Handbook of Theoretical and Philosophical Psychology presents a comprehensive exploration of the wide range of methodological approaches utilized in the contemporary field of theoretical and philosophical psychology. The Wiley Handbook of Theoretical and Philosophical Psychology presents a comprehensive exploration of the wide range of methodological approaches utilized in the contemporary field of theoretical and philosophical psychology. Gathers together for the first time all the approaches and methods that define scholarly practice in theoretical and philosophical psychology Chapters explore various philosophical and conceptual approaches, historical approaches, narrative approaches to the nature of human conduct, mixed-method studies of psychology and psychological inquiry, and various theoretical bases of contemporary psychotherapeutic practices Features contributions from ten Past Presidents of the Society of Theoretical and Philosophical Psychology, along with several Past Presidents of other relevant societies
ISBN: 9781118748312Publication Date: 2015-05-04
Why use books?
I can hear it already. "Why use books, everything is available online?" Well, books are still very relevant when conducting research, especially on topics with which you are less familiar. Academic journals are written by high-level professionals for their peers, and this means that they are frequently assume a in-depth knowledge of the topic as well as familiarity with the jargon of the field. Books, on the other hand, frequently provide the context and background for topics that students need to understand the current research written about in academic journals.
Sometimes your topic will be too specific for an entire book. If this is the case, don't worry! You might have to find a book on a broader topic and then look at either the table of contents (generally listed in the item record in the catalog) or the index to find information about your topic. If you are having any problems finding resources, you can always contact a librarian to help you locate appropriate materials.
"I just want to wander the shelves looking for a book..."
Sometimes, it's nice to just wander the shelves looking for just the right book, flipping through to gauge the contents. The book collection is organized according to Library of Congress Call Numbers. Where to start? Call numbers that start with the letter BF are for Psychology, but there are other areas of the library that might also be of interest. Below is a breakdown of the call number ranges for specific topics related to Psychology.
| BF173-145.5 | Psychoanalysis |
| BF176-176.5 | Psychological tests and testing |
| BF501-505 | Motivation |
| BF636-637 | Applied psychology |
| BF712-724.85 | BF712-724.85 |
| BF725-727 | Class psychology |
| HM1001-1281 | Social psychology |
| LB1050.9-1091 | Educational psychology |
| RCRC435-571 | Psychiatry |
| RC475-489 | Therapeutics. Psychotherapy |
| RC512-569.5 | Psychopathology |
| RC569.7-571 | Developmental disabilities |
New Books
Nudge
A groundbreaking discussion of how we can apply the new science of choice architecture to nudge people toward decisions that will improve their lives by making them healthier, wealthier, and more free Every day, we make decisions on topics ranging from personal investments to schools for our children to the meals we eat to the causes we champion. Unfortunately, we often choose poorly. Nobel laureate Richard Thaler and legal scholar and bestselling author Cass Sunstein explain in this important exploration of choice architecture that, being human, we all are susceptible to various biases that can lead us to blunder. Our mistakes make us poorer and less healthy; we often make bad decisions involving education, personal finance, health care, mortgages and credit cards, the family, and even the planet itself. In Nudge, Thaler and Sunstein invite us to enter an alternative world, one that takes our humanness as a given. They show that by knowing how people think, we can design choice environments that make it easier for people to choose what is best for themselves, their families, and their society. Using colorful examples from the most important aspects of life, Thaler and Sunstein demonstrate how thoughtful "choice architecture" can be established to nudge us in beneficial directions without restricting freedom of choice. Nudge offers a unique new take--from neither the left nor the right--on many hot-button issues, for individuals and governments alike. This is one of the most engaging and provocative books to come along in many years.
Sources of Power
A modern classic about how people really make decisions: drawing on prior experience, using a combination of intuition and analysis. Since its publication twenty years ago, Sources of Power has been enormously influential. The book has sold more than 50,000 copies, has been translated into six languages, has been cited in professional journals that range from Journal of Marketing Research to Journal of Nursing, and is mentioned by Malcolm Gladwell in Blink. Author Gary Klein has collaborated with Nobel laureate Daniel Kahneman and served on a team that redesigned the White House Situation Room to support more effective decision making. The model of decision making Klein proposes in the book has been adopted in fields including law enforcement training and petrochemical plant operation. What is the groundbreaking new way to approach decision making described in this modern classic? We have all seen images of firefighters rescuing people from burning buildings and paramedics treating bombing victims. How do these individuals make the split-second decisions that save lives? Most studies of decision making, based on artificial tasks assigned in laboratory settings, view people as biased and unskilled. Klein proposes a naturalistic approach to decision making, which views people as gaining experience that enables them to use a combination of intuition and analysis to make decisions. To illustrate this approach, Klein tells stories of people--from pilots to chess masters--acting under such real-life constraints as time pressure, high stakes, personal responsibility, and shifting conditions.