Agriculture

The Golden Library OneSearch enables you to search everything in the library at one time, including books, music, films, journal articles, eBooks, etc. If you are searching only for journal articles, using individual, subject-specific databases is highly recommended. (Look to the right for area-specific databases.)

• To search everything at once, enter your search term in the box
• At the left-hand sidebar, limit your search by format.
  • For eBooks, click eBook box in the left-hand sidebar, then the title link and the "View eBook" link
  • For print books, films, music, etc., click the appropriate box(es) in the left-hand sidebar, then the title link and look for location code, call number and availability.

If you are searching for materials not held at ENMU, use the WorldCat search.To request a part (article, chapter) or all of a resource (whole book), please use the Interlibrary Loan program, information found in the Interlibrary Loan tab above.

• Broadest search: You can do a Golden Library OneSearch to search all electronically-available journals and databases. This can be done from the library homepage or in the box in the top left of this page.
• Narrower search: You can search within a specific database. This can be done clicking the Library Databases button on the library homepage. You can then narrow your search by changing the drop-down menus. (You can also just look at the Databases for Agriculture Research box above.)
• Narrowest search: You can search the A-Z list of electronic journals and either search for a particular journal, browse alphabetically, or narrow it down to a particular subject. This can be done clicking the Resources tab on the top of the library homepage, then clicking E-Journals. E-journals held by the Golden Library include:
  • Animal Reproduction Science
  • Asian-Australasian Journal of Animal Sciences
  • Canadian Journal of Animal Science (2 year full-text delay)
  • Czech Journal of Animal Science
  • Irish Veterinary Journal
  • Italian Journal of Animal Science
  • Journal of Agriculture Education
  • Journal of Agricultural and Environmental Ethics (1 year full-text delay)
  • Journal of Animal Science and Biotechnology
  • Journal of Applied Animal Research
  • Journal of Dairy Science: 2009-present (2006-2010 available in print in Serials on 2nd floor of GSSC)
  • Journal of Experimental Animal Science
  • Journal of the South African Veterinary Association
  • Journal of Veterinary Medicine
  • Malaysian Journal of Animal Science
  • Small Ruminant Research
  • South African Journal of Animal Science
  • The Professional Animal Scientist
  • The Veterinary Journal
  • Veterinary and Animal Science
  • Veterinary Microbiology

[Note: Google Scholar is a Google search through peer-reviewed sources, but you may find results that are not held by ENMU. You can request those articles through Interlibrary Loan.]

The internet is a rich source of information about agriculture. The problem a lot of student have is not knowing which websites are reliable and contain quality information. The following is a list of agriculture related websites students and researchers may find useful.

Agriculture Education:

• Agriculture Education Toolkit: Created by the National Institute of Food and Agriculture this website contains resources specific to teaching agriculture in the classroom. If you are looking to teach about agriculture in this site is a great place to start. 
• American Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture: This website was created to increase "awareness, understanding, and positive public awareness of agriculture through education." 
• National Agriculture in the Classroom:  Managed by the National Center for Agricultural Literacy at Utah State University, this website contains links for teachers and students. Teach resources include Curriculum Matric, Educator Professional Development, Agricultural Literacy Outcomes, eLearning, and more. 
• Online Agricultural Education Resource: Created by the University of Florida's Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences this website contains lessons for educators to use in the classroom. The lessons and worksheets are categorized for easy location.
• Teach Ag Tools and Resources: Created by the National Association of Agricultural Educators the website contains lesson plans and activities along with employment resources for agricultural educators.

Agriculture (General):

• Agriculture Online: Published by Successful Farming, this website contains news and information about multiple areas of agriculture. Resources include weather and market reports, articles about farm management, technology, livestock crops, and family life.
• Agriculture Network Information Collaboration (AgNIC): Created in 1995 AgNIC brought together universities, agriculture libraries, research institutes, and farmland trusts to collaborate on agricultural information and data management. Resources include selected readings, and links to partner institutions.
• Ag Careers E-Book: This interactive E-Book allows you to explore the different career possibilities in agriculture.
• Core Historical Literature of Agriculture: Cornell University's Core Historical Literature of Agriculture is an electronic collection of agricultural literature published in the middle nineteenth century to the start of the twenty-first century. Researchers can locate information through the search window or browse by title, year, or a journal title list. 
• Feedstuffs: The site states it is "animal agriculture's leading source of news, information, and analysis on the important issues affecting the business of producing food and fuel for the world's market." Resources include articles about livestock nutrition and health, feed market prices, and consumer trends.
• National Agricultural Statistics Service: Created by the United States Department of Agriculture the NASS conducts surveys and prepares objective and unbiased reports for every aspect of agriculture in the United States. Resources include; statistical reports, agricultural census, current agricultural news, and more. 
• National Livestock Producers Association: The NLPA was created in an effort to get livestock producers to work together for the benefit of all members. Resources include current ESDA market articles, and more. Content such as committee meetings and livestock stewardship  require a membership.
• Soil and Health Library: Created in 1997, the Soil and Health Library provides free downloadable e-books on radical agriculture, natural hygiene and self-sufficiency. Resources are categorized by agriculture, health, personal sovereignty, and spiritual freedom. It is important to note that many of the e-books are on subjects outside the mainstream ideology.
• USDA Agricultural Research Service: Created by the United States Department of Agriculture the website contains resources for students, and professionals for agricultural research.

Dairy Science:

• American Dairy Science Association: This website contains resources such a newsletters, articles, and Guide for the Care and Use of Agricultural Animals in Research and Teaching (this publication is in downloadable PDF format). The home page for the ADSA, access to some of the material requires purchasing a memberships to the ADSA. 
• Cheese Market News: From cheese market updates to processing plant information, this website contains current information about cheese production and sales.
• Code of Federal Regulations: All new and current federal regulations can be located through this website. Locating a specific regulation does take a bit of time.
• Dairy Herd: This website contains resources on a wide variety of topics from technological innovations to farm worker mental health. 
• Dairy Science and Food Technology: Providing cloud-based tools a services for students, instructors, and professionals working in dairy and food science fields. The website includes resources for writing and citations as well as scientific and technological information.
• U.S. Dairy Export Council: This website covers all aspects of dairy exportation and trade in the United States. Resources include the free "International Demand Analysis," ODF. While other research articles require a membership login. 

Veterinary Science:

• dvm360: doctor of veterinary medicine (dvm360) is a website devoted to the field of veterinary medicine. Resources include news articles, veterinary publication articles, clinical articles, and continuing education requirements by state, conference listings, and additional resources. 

• Frontiers in Veterinary Science: A global peer reviewed Open Access journal in areas of venterinary medical and surgical challenges. Resources include articles coving a wide range of veterinary topics.