Food Science and Culinary Arts Videos
- Baking Basics Learn the basics of baking and cooking with this comprehensive video. Discover the secrets of mouth-watering baked goods and basic meat preparation techniques. This video includes Baking and Cooking Basics videos: • Pies (24:30 minutes)• Yeast Breads (13 minutes)• Quick Breads (14:30 minutes)• Cookies (20 minutes)• Meat (21 minutes)
- Cooking Techniques and Utensils Cooking or cookery is the art, technology, science and craft of preparing food for consumption. Cooking techniques and ingredients vary widely across the world, from grilling food over an open fire to using electric stoves, to baking in various types of ovens, reflecting unique environmental, economic, and cultural traditions and trends. The ways or types of cooking also depend on the skill and type of training an individual cook has. Cooking is done both by people in their own dwellings and by professional cooks and chefs in restaurants and other food establishments. Cooking can also occur through chemical reactions without the presence of heat, such as in ceviche, a traditional South American dish where fish is cooked with the acids in lemon or lime juice.
- Food Preparation 1: Measurement Techniques This easy-to-follow course of study provides the basics for learning how to prepare food for cooking. We begin by learning the proper measurement techniques for liquid and dry ingredients, which is important to guaranteeing the proper outcome of a recipe.
- Jobs in Food and Nutrition: Career Compass Many people don't realize where - or who - their food comes from. But farmers, chefs, scientists and health care workers all play a role in the story of what we eat every day. Learn how these professionals combine their efforts to produce, prepare, develop and evaluate food and ensure nutrition. Discover related jobs and the education and experiences beneficial to building a career in food and nutrition.
- Kitchen Math: Measuring Success or failure in the kitchen depends on three elements interacting with each other: ingredients, time, and temperature. Measuring these three elements accurately helps ensure the end result is delicious food. Kitchen Math: Measuring presents measuring basics with humor and fun:• Units of measurement• Common abbreviations• Measuring tools and techniques• Proper measuring techniques for dry, solid, and liquid ingredients• Basic recipe conversion and cost comparisons
- Knife Skills Join Chef Marshall O’Brien to learn basic knife cuts and essential knife skills to gain confidence in the kitchen. Chef Marshall explains how to stay safe, identifies common types of knives, and demonstrates basic cutting techniques. Short video segments include:• Knife safety• Types of knives• Using a food processor and blender• Cutting produce: slice, dice, chop• Cutting techniques for meat
- Knife Skills for Foodservice Join Chef Marshall O’Brien to learn basic knife skills essentials for foodservice operations in Knife Skills for Foodservice and Culinary DVD. Chef Marshall offers insight and practical advice to train foodservice workers to safely and efficiently cut fresh fruits and vegetables with a knife and an industrial food processor. Short video segments include:• Knife safety• Types of knives• Using an industrial food processor• Cutting fruits and vegetables with a knife: slice, dice, chop
Culinary Arts Books in the Library
Bowes and Church's Food Values of Portions Commonly Used by Call Number: TX551 .B64 1998ISBN: 9780397554355Publication Date: 1997-10-01
Chef's Guide to Herbs and Spices by
Essential 6 page laminated kitchen-proof guide for both the professional chef and homegrown culinary enthusiast. Chef Jay Weinstein, CIA-trained veteran of America's finest kitchens, including New York's Le Bernardin and Boston's Jasper enumerates the relevant leaves, seeds, barks, buds, resins, and other plant-based seasonings of modern world cuisines sharing techniques such as infusions, herb-oils, rubs, and curries in easy-to-execute tip boxes and charts enabling any cook to make any flavor fast. From aromatic properties to classical and cutting-edge pairings, create flavor profiles of both Western foods and emerging food scenes of Asia, Latin America and beyond. Make marinades truly penetrate, broths genuinely profound, and coax the most essence from every herb and spice. For gardening chefs, the guide enumerates the seven best methods for locking flavor into dried, infused, and otherwise preserved homegrowns. For the aroma-curious, it maps out intriguing spice adventures to enliven everyday meals. For the novice, it defines every herb and spice needed to produce just about any dish they wish to master. This may be the only herb and spice reference a good cook will ever need. 6 page laminated guide includes: Definitions Herbs: Fresh or Dried? Cuts, Blends & Bundles Curries Buying Storing & Preserving Herbs & Spices Drying Herbs Salt Tips & Tricks Chili Powders Culinary Herbs Reference Table Photo of the Herb Description Flavor Profile Pairings Forms Chef's Comments Culinary Spices Reference Table Photo of the Spice Description Flavor Profile Pairings Forms Chef's Comments Coaxing the Essence Growing at Home Marinades & Rubs
Call Number: *** E-Book unlimited user access ***ISBN: 9781423239772Publication Date: 2018-11-01
Culinary Calculations by
Culinary Calculations, Second Edition provides the mathematical knowledge and skills that are essential for a successful career in today's competitive food service industry. This user-friendly guide starts with basic principles before introducing more specialized topics like costing, AP/EP, menu pricing, recipe conversion and costing, and inventory costs. Written in a non-technical, easy-to-understand style, the book features a case study that runs through all chapters, showing the various math concepts put into real-world practice. This revised and updated Second Edition of Culinary Calculations covers relevant math skills for four key areas: * Basic math for the culinary arts and food service industry * Math for the professional kitchen * Math for the business side of the food service industry * Computer applications for the food service industry Each chapter within these sections is rich with resources, including helpful callout boxes for particular formulas and concepts, example menus and price lists, and information tables. Review questions, homework problems, and the ongoing case study end each chapter.
Call Number: TX911.3.M33 J56 2008ISBN: 9780471748168Publication Date: 2008-03-10
The Kitchen As Laboratory by
Eating is a multisensory experience, yet chefs and scientists have only recently begun to deconstruct food's components, setting the stage for science-based cooking. In this global collaboration of essays, chefs and scientists advance culinary knowledge by testing hypotheses rooted in the physical and chemical properties of food. Using traditional and cutting-edge tools, ingredients, and techniques, these pioneers create, and sometimes revamp, dishes that respond to specific desires and serve up an original encounter with gastronomic practice. From the seemingly mundane to the food fantastic--from grilled cheese sandwiches, pizzas, and soft-boiled eggs to Turkish ice cream, sugar glasses, and jellified beads--the essays in The Kitchen as Laboratory cover a range of creations and their history and culture. They consider the significance of an eater's background and dining atmosphere and the importance of a chef's methods, as well as the strategies used to create a great diversity of foods and dishes. This collection will delight experts and amateurs alike, especially as restaurants rely more on science-based cooking and recreational cooks increasingly explore the physics and chemistry behind their art. Contributors end each essay with their personal thoughts on food, cooking, and science, offering rare insight into a professional's passion for playing with food.
Call Number: *** E-Book unlimited user access ***ISBN: 9780231153454Publication Date: 2013-08-13
Nutrition for Foodservice and Culinary Professionals by
The Study Guide to Accompany Nutrition for Foodservice and Culinary Professionals, Seventh Edition is a useful tool to help students study and review the material in the textbook Nutrition for Foodservice and Culinary Professionals. It contains 13 chapters of learning objectives; chapter outlines; nutrition web explorer; chapter review quizzes; and student worksheets. The purpose is to reinforce learning, support your study efforts, and assist you in mastering the material.
Call Number: TX353 .D78 2010ISBN: 9780470052426Publication Date: 2009-05-12
Remarkable Service by
As competition for customers is constantly increasing, contemporary restaurants must distinguish themselves by offering consistent, high-quality service. Service and hospitality can mean different things to different foodservice operations, and this book addresses the service needs of a wide range of dining establishments, from casual and outdoor dining to upscale restaurants and catering operations. Chapters cover everything from training and hiring staff, preparation for service, front-door hospitality to money handling, styles of modern table service, front-of-the-house safety and sanitation, serving diners with special needs, and service challenges-what to do when things go wrong. Remarkable Service is the most comprehensive guide to service and hospitality on the market, and this new edition includes the most up-to-date information available on serving customers in the contemporary restaurant world.
Call Number: TX911.3.M27 R453 2009ISBN: 9780470197400Publication Date: 2009-05-04
