LibGuides: Career and Technical Education: Home

link box

Library Chat Talk to a librarian Library Database Help Help with access and library databases Library Home Access the library home page

Starting Your Search

The Golden Library OneSearch enables you to search everything in the library at one time, including books, music, films, journal articles, eBooks, etc. If you are searching only for journal articles, using individual, subject-specific databases is highly recommended. (Look to the right bar for area-specific databases.)

To search everything at once, enter your search term in the box
At the left-hand sidebar, limit your search by format.
- For eBooks, click eBook box in the left-hand sidebar, then the title link and the "View eBook" link
- For print books, films, music, etc., click the appropriate box(es) in the left-hand sidebar, then the title link and look for location code, call number and availability.

If you are searching for materials not held at ENMU, use the WorldCat search.To request a part (article, chapter) or all of a resource (whole book), please use the Interlibrary Loan program, information found in the Interlibrary Loan tab above.

Journals for CTE

Databases for CTE Research

Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source offers extensive coverage of research and development within the applied sciences and computing disciplines by combining high-quality databases from both EBSCO Publishing and H.W. Wilson. This premier resource offers full text for almost 1,200 journals, citations to millions of articles. The content within Applied Science & Technology Source derives from numerous sources, including leading trade journals, professional and technical society journals, and conference proceedings.
Computer Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Computer Science. provides access to leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
Educator's Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business.
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Source provides full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, reference books and high-quality videos. The database also contains science experiments, curriculum-aligned lesson plans, and a vast image collection.

Vocation and Careers Collection
Vocations and Careers Collection provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers current and applicable content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

Websites for Career and Technical Education

The following websites are useful for Career and Technical Education research.

Association for Career & Technical Education: The ACTE' Mission states they strive to provide educators with the knowledge to "deliver high quality CTED programs" that position students for their best opportunities for success.
Advance CTE: A national non-profit created to represent state CTE Directors and CTE education leaders.
CareerOneStop Toolkit: CareerOneStop is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. The toolkit offers information about careers, training, wages, and more. This is a great place to start if you are looking for a jobs, comparing career options, or exploring the future growth potential of a specific field.
Education Northwest: Education Northwest provides technical assistance, high-quality research, professional development to schools, districts, and communities with the goal of helping children and youth achieve their full potential. Resources include program planning and design, articles on diversity, equity, and inclusion, and more.
Kentucky Department of Education Facilities Guide: This resources has specific guidelines for planning CTE classrooms and educational facilities.
National Research Center for Career and Technical Education: Working with the Southern Regional Education Board the NRCCTE brings research in the area of career and technical education into the classroom. Resources include articles by the NRCCTE, reports, podcasts, videos and presentations.
Office of Career, Technical, and Adult Education: Created by the U.S. Department of Education, the OCTAE "administers, coordinates programs that are related to adult education and literacy, career and technical education, and community colleges. Resources include educational data, student loan information, grant information, and more.