LibGuides: Speculative Fiction: Encyclopedias and Guides

Encyclopedias & Guides

Specialized encyclopedias and guides can give an overview of a topic or be a quick reference source. Below are items held by the Golden Library.

Anatomy of Wonder by Neil Barron (Editor)
Call Number: Williamson Open PN3433.8 .A53 1987

ISBN: 0835223124
A Biographical Dictionary of Science Fiction and Fantasy Artists by Robert Weinberg
Call Number: Williamson Open NC961.6 .W45 1988

ISBN: 9780313243493
Brave New Words by Jeff Prucher; Gene Wolfe (Introduction by)
Call Number: Williamson Open PN3433.4 .P78 2007

ISBN: 9780195305678

The first historical dictionary devoted to science fiction, Brave New Words:The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction shows exactly how science-fictional words and their associated concepts have developed over time, with full citations and bibliographic information. These citations are drawn not only from science fiction books and magazines, but also from mainstream publications, fanzines, screenplays, newspapers, comics, filk songs, and the Internet.
The Cambridge Companion to Science Fiction by Edward James (ed.); Farah Mendlesohn (ed.)
Call Number: Williamson Open PN3377.5.S3 C363 2003

ISBN: 9780521816267
A Companion to Science Fiction by David Seed (Editor)
Call Number: Online Resource

ISBN: 9781405144582
The Dictionary of Imaginary Places by Alberto Manguel; Gianni Guadalupi
Call Number: Reference GR650 .M36 1987

ISBN: 9780156260541
An Encyclopedia of Fairies by Katharine Mary Briggs
Call Number: General GR549 .B74 1976b

ISBN: 039473467x
The Encyclopedia of Fantasy by John Clute (Editor); John Grant (Editor); John Grant; Clute John; Palgrave Macmillan Staff
Call Number: Williamson Open PN3435 .E53 1997b

ISBN: 9780312158972
Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy by Donald H. Tuck
Call Number: Williamson Open PN3433.4 .T83 v.1&2 c.2

ISBN: 0911682201

Publication Date: 1974-03-01
Fantasy Literature by Marshall Tymn (Editor); Robert Boyer (Editor); Kenneth Zahorski (Editor)
Call Number: Williamson Open PR830.F3 T96

ISBN: 0835211533
Horror Literature by Marshall B. Tymn
Call Number: Williamson Open PR830.T3 H67 1981

ISBN: 9780835213417
The Mammoth Encyclopedia of Science Fiction by George Mann (Editor)
Call Number: Williamson Open PN3433.4 .M36 2001

ISBN: 9780786708871
The MUP Encyclopaedia of Australian Science Fiction and Fantasy by Paul Collins; Steven Paulsen (ed.); Sean McMullen
Call Number: Williamson Open PN3433.4 .C65 1998

ISBN: 9780522848021
The New Encyclopedia of Science Fiction by James Gunn (ed.)
Call Number: Williamson Open PN3433.4 .N48 1988

ISBN: 9780670810413
The Routledge Companion to Science Fiction by Mark Bould (ed.) and others
Call Number: Williamson Open PN3433.5 .R69 2011

ISBN: 9780415453790
Science Fiction by John Clute
Call Number: Williamson Open PN3433.4 .C57 1995

ISBN: 9780789401854
Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Weird Fiction Magazines by Marshall B. Tymn; Mike Ashley
Call Number: Williamson Open PN3433 .T9 1985

ISBN: 031321221X
The Visual Encyclopedia of Science Fiction by Brian Ash
Call Number: Williamson Open PN3433.4 V57 1977

ISBN: 0517531755

Biographical Works

Individual authors may have their own website, which can usually be found through a simple Google name search. You may want to include "author" or a title of one of their works to make sure you don't get irrelevant search hits.

British Fantasy and Science-Fiction Writers Before World War I by Layman; Darren Harris-Fain (Contribution by)
Call Number: Online Resource

ISBN: 9780810399419
British Fantasy and Science-Fiction Writers since 1960 by Darren Harris-Fain (ed.)
Call Number: Online Resource

ISBN: 9780787660055

Publication Date: 2002
Canadian Fantasy and Science-Fiction Writers by Douglas Ivison (ed.)
Call Number: Online Resource

ISBN: 9780787646684

Publication Date: 2001
Contemporary Science Fiction Authors by R. Reginald
Call Number: Williamson Open PN3448.S45 R34 1975

ISBN: 9780405063329
Science Fiction Writers by Everett F. Bleiler (ed.)
Call Number: Wiliamson Open PN3433.4 .S339 1982

ISBN: 9780684167404
Sisters of Tomorrow by Lisa Yaszek (ed.) & Patrick B. Sharp (ed.)
Call Number: Online Resource

ISBN: 9780819576255
Twentieth Century Science Fiction Writers by Curtis S. Smith (ed.)
Call Number: Williamson Open PN3433.4 .T945 1981

ISBN: 9780312824204