LibGuides: Sociology: Finding Articles

Major Sociology Journals

American Journal of Sociology
Features articles, review articles and substantial numbers of book reviews in all areas of sociology.
American Sociological Review
Original works of interest to all areas of sociology in general, new theoretical developments, results of research that advance understanding of fundamental social processes and important methodological innovations.
Sociological methodology
Articles cover research tools relevant to contemporary statistics, psychometrics and econometrics as well as sociology.
Sociological Methods & Research
Articles, review articles advancing the understanding of sociology, particularly focused on the assessment of the scientific status of sociology.

Sociology Databases

The following databases contain academic journal, magazine, and/or newspaper articles plus e-books on many aspects of sociology. Results from these databases will show up in the Golden Library One Search under "everything", but some have extra features on their own sites.

American Fact Finder (Open Access): American FactFinder is a source for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 covers topics including LGBTQ activism and the HIV/AIDS crisis. It provides researchers with the documents necessary to delve deep into the Gay Rights Movement with resources that may otherwise go undiscovered. Repositories for this collection include: Lesbian Herstory Educational Foundation; Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives; Women's Energy Bank; GLBT Historical Society; National Library of Medicine; among other archives.
CQ Researcher: Covers the most important and controversial issues of the day. Contains the full text of CQ Researcher, a weekly publication. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
Diversity Studies Collection: Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community.
Gender Studies Collection: Provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context: An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.