HIST 2110 -- New Mexico History

The Center for New Mexico Archaeology (CNMA) is a central facility for archaeological research, curation, and education in the state of New Mexico. It is located in Santa Fe.

The Center for Southwest Research (CSWR) specializes in interdisciplinary subjects relating to New Mexico, the Southwestern U.S., Mexico and Latin America, as well as rare materials from around the world. Strengths include Native American, Chicano/Hispano, Spanish Colonial, and environmental history, plus a wide range of locally published and archival materials documenting the region.

From 2010 to 2015, New Mexico participated in the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). Over 200,000 pages of newspapers from around the state have been digitized. Hosted by the University Libraries at the University of New Mexico, funding for these projects came from the National Endowment for the Humanities and the University of New Mexico Center for Regional Studies.

They provide physical and digital resources, and they have research guides describing how to use their various materials. They have a Southwest Collection, a digital collection, and a State Documents Collection.

The mission of the Office of the State Historian is to foster and facilitate an appreciation and understanding of New Mexico history and culture through education, research, preservation, and community outreach.

Their library page includes digital resources, and the digitized collections page includes scanned photographs. Read their descriptions for more information about access.

Scholarly publications from UNM faculty; student theses, dissertations, and research; UNM administrative records, and more.

This systematic collection of living people's recollections of their experiences with farming, ranching, and rural life is a major component in researching and interpreting these subjects.

The Historical Society of New Mexico is a membership organization with volunteer directors and members. The Society has no paid staff or research collections of its own, but members are happy to share the benefits of their research experience and subject expertise with correspondents.

The Learn and Explore page has links to several types of resources: from individual site history to teaching materials about different topics like suffrage and railroads.

New Mexico Archives Online is your source of information about archival collections in Colorado, New Mexico and Wyoming. Specialized guides, called finding aids, give detailed descriptions of primary source materials located at twenty-seven different repositories. Search the finding aids to discover what historical materials are available for study and where those collections are located.

Part of the Library of Congress' digital collections, these are digitized historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963. You can do a full-text search and/or browse by state.

A project to digitize the archives of American rural and community newspapers.

Here you can find a plethora of digitized print materials, photographs, audio-visual materials and so on. You can do a keyword search, narrow down by subjects and formats, or look for a collection specific to your research interest.
NOTE: Once you are viewing a collection, select the "Collection Items" tab to view the actual images.

An online presentation of an ethnographic field collection documenting religious and secular music of Spanish-speaking residents of rural Northern New Mexico and Southern Colorado.

The New Mexico Folklife Project was conducted by Carl Fleischhauer of the American Folklife Center, in the summers of 1984 and 1985. The project's photographs, sound recordings, and field notes document the Hispanic art and artists identified above; La Galeria de Colores, Las Vegas, New Mexico; Pop Shaffer's art environments, Mountainair; a livestock auction, Clayton; and aspects of life in Mosquero, New Mexico.

For items that are available for viewing, select "Available Online" at the top of the results list. Includes records from the National Historic Landmarks Program.

If you're still deciding on your research subject, you can browse this topic search instead of searching the catalog.

Part of the Library of Congress online collections, this is a searchable database of the fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company housed in the collections of the Geography and Map Division. You can search or browse alphabetically. Search terms include states, counties, and cities.

The museum’s collections include 80,000 archaeological, ethnographic, and fine arts objects, and more than 10 million artifacts from almost 12,000 carefully excavated archaeological sites across New Mexico. Located in Santa Fe.

As a major player in Albuquerque’s cultural scene, the center presents art, history, and literary exhibitions, theater, music and dance productions, classic and contemporary films, and family and school events, along with readings and book signings by renowned authors and poets.

A 47-acre interactive museum with 24,000 square feet of exhibit space, along with a restaurant, gift shop, and theater. Located in Las Cruces

The New Mexico History Museum features 3 1/2 floors of exhibitions telling the stories that made the American West, from the early lives of Native peoples to Spanish colonists, the Mexican era, Santa Fe Trail merchants, the railroad, cowboys, outlaws, scientists, and hippies. Located in Santa Fe.

The New Mexico Museum of Art houses more than 20,000 works of American and European art, including paintings, prints, drawings, sculpture, photographs, new media, and conceptual works. The focus of the collection is on American art, with an emphasis on artists working in the Southwest. Located in Santa Fe.

Located in Albuquerque, this museum focuses on the history of the land and environment.

The museum is a Smithsonian Affiliate and the designated repository / archive for New Mexico’s Spaceport America, the world’s first purpose-built spaceport. Located in Alamogordo