Archives and Special Collections Librarian
Mailing address:
ENMU Station 32
1500 S Ave K
Portales, NM 88130
Golden Library Resources
- Eastern New Mexico Oral History ProjectThe collection now includes interviews that focus on a wide variety of topics including: women’s rights, homesteading the Temperance Movement, Native American culture and history, World War I & II. The collection also includes interviews and lectures with the internationally-known pioneering science fiction novelist Jack Williamson.
- ENMU ArchivesThe Archives include not only minutes, reports, and other text documents relating to Eastern through the years, but also maps, photographs, and records of different departments. A box-level inventory is below.
- ENMU Master's Thesis ProjectAll theses can be checked out in print, but this is an ongoing digitization project to increase digital access. The range of topics include, the study of the regional archeology sites, various educational topics, literary analysis, behavior/communication analysis, religious analysis and history of churches and religion.
- Golden Library Special CollectionsWithin this department, there are books, journals, and maps about the American Southwest. We also have many primary sources such as photographs, scrapbooks, and organizational records in our archival materials. Additionally, we have physical and digitized newspapers from the region.
- Local History InventoryA box-level inventory of the Local History Collection held by ENMU Special Collections
Library of Congress Call Numbers for NM History
Sometimes, a great way to discover new items is to browse the shelves, which may lead you to items you would never have even thought of searching for. In the Golden Library's materials, you can search the general collection on the 1st floor or the Southwest materials in Special Collections located on the 2nd floor. Materials are organized by Library of Congress call number. The complete schedule can be browsed here.
Here are some call numbers of relevance for this class:
- E11-143 America
- E11-29 General
- E29 Elements in the population
- E31-49.2 North America
- E51-73 Pre-Columbian America. The Indians
- E75-99 Indians of North America
- E81-83 Indian wars
- E99 Indian tribes and cultures
- E101-135 Discovery of America and early explorations
- E103-110 Pre-Columbian period
- E111-120 Columbus
- E121-135 Post-Columbian period. El Dorado
- E141-143 Descriptive accounts of America. Earliest to 1810
- E401-415.2 United States by Period -- Mexican War, 1846-1848
- E408 United States by Period -- Mexican cessions of 1848
- F786-790: United States Local History -- New Southwest. Colorado River, Canyon, and Valley
- F791-805: United States Local History -- New Mexico
Are you trying to find words to use to find a specific topic? Older items may use different terminology. You can look up subject and names in the Library of Congress linked data service. Do a search for Billy the Kid, and you will find that the authorized form of his name in records for books is Billy, the Kid. Looking for Pueblo Revolt leads you to the record for Pueblo Revolt, 1680, which will lead you to some broader terms that you can search for in case a book only includes the Revolt as a portion of the text.
Journals
- New Mexico Historical ReviewThe Review embraces fields of inquiry from history to folklore and literature to anthropology and archaeology. Articles range widely to cover topics from politics, land, and water to culture, religion, and ethnicity.
Available in print in Serials section of Golden Student Success Center. Shelved by title. - Southern New Mexico Historical ReviewJournal of the Doña Ana County Historical Society.
Some copies available in print in Special Collections in Golden Student Success Center.
New Mexico Reads
New Mexico Reads Database
This ebook and audiobook collection provided by the New Mexico State Library includes Southwest history and culture titles and fiction by New Mexico authors or set in the Southwest. New Mexico Reads also includes some books on racism in America, library and information science, national topics such as the 1918 Spanish flu pandemic, and a selection of audiobooks. There is a small collection of books for children and tweens and teens. ENMU users create a free account using your ENMU ID# as your library ID. Users can also download an app for reading on a mobile device. Visit your app store and search for the Axis 360 app. Once you have downloaded the app, search for New Mexico State Library and login.
Locations on Campus
- Blackwater Draw Museum and SiteThe Blackwater Draw Museum was built in 1969 to house the artifacts excavated from the Clovis Site. Additionally, the museum is charged with the care of other collections, including the Miles Anthropological Collection and the Calvin Smith Collections.
- Roosevelt County Historical MuseumFounded in 1940, the Roosevelt County Historical Museum is located on the campus of Eastern New Mexico University. All displays have been donated by county residents.
- Dr. Antonio "Tony" Gennaro Natural History MuseumThe purpose of the museum is to promote understanding of the diversity of life, emphasizing the natural heritage of eastern New Mexico and the greater Southwest.