Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

K-12 Curriculum Collection: Home

K-12 curriculum materials

Homeschoolers - Get Textbooks

How can I check out textbooks?

  1. You will need to have a Golden Library account.
  2. Make a list of the textbooks that you would like to use that includes grade level, call number, and what pieces of the set you would like to borrow.
  3. Send an email to susan.asplund@enmu.edu or call 575-562-2629.  You will need to have:
  1. The name on your account.
  2. The name of the books, grade level, call number, and what pieces of the set you would like to borrow.
  1. Susan will contact you to discuss a pick-up time once the materials have been gathered.

What is the K-12 Curriculum Collection?

The K-12 Curriculum Collection located in the Golden Student Success Center is one of six Regional Evaluation Centers for the Instructional Materials Bureau of the New Mexico Department of Public Education. It is a collection of K-12 textbooks and teaching materials reviewed for adoption by the New Mexico Board of Public Education for use in New Mexico public schools. After the evaluation period is completed, K-12 Curriculum items are listed in the Golden Library Catalog.

This collection serves:
School districts in Eastern New Mexico
College of Education faculty and students
Home school families

Location: GSSC 202: 2nd floor; S.E. Corner 

Contact Curriculum Librarian : 575-562-2629 susan.asplund@enmu.edu

 

Using the K-12 Curriculum Collection

K-12 Curriculum Collection Details:

  • Arranged by subject area and year of adoption.
  • Elementary, Jr. High and High School texts.
  • Textbooks, teacher resources, kits and unit plans.
  • Items are kept in the collection until superseded by new textbook adoption, usually six years.
  • Superseded materials will be given away every spring semester, usually in April. Check this page for exact dates.
  • Materials are listed in the online catalog and can be checked out at the Circulation Desk on the main floor of the library.

Curriculum Materials Shelving Guide:

Materials are shelved by subject area and year of review.

1/2019: Careers and Technical Education/CTE and Mathematics (coming to shelves fall 2020)

2/2014: 9-12 English & Language Arts/ELA and Modern Languages/ML

3/2015: K-8 English & Language Arts/ELA and Modern Languages/ML

4/2016: K-12 Social Studies

5/2017: K-12 Health

6/2018: Arts and Science

Finding Books

Library OneSearch
  • Use the Golden Library One Search box above to search for materials.  
  • Do a search using the subject area you are looking for.  Be as specific as you can.  For example. High school English will give you fewer choices than English. 
  •  Once you are on the search result page, you can limit your search to the 'K-12 Instructional Resource Collection' using 'Filter by Library Location' located on the left-hand side of the page. 
  • For additional assistance, please use the ‘Email Me’ link in the ‘Curriculum Materials Collection Librarian’ box.

FAQ

Why can’t I find any mathematics or career education textbooks?

Mathematics and career education are the subject areas that were looked at last year.  We did not receive any new career education materials.  The mathematics textbooks and resource materials are currently being cataloged.  The staff is currently only in the office half-time.  There is currently no estimated completion date for this project.  Request a grade level and preferred publisher if known, and materials will be found and checked out to you.

How can I return the textbooks I already have?

All checked out material must be returned in the book drop located outside of the Avenue K entrance.  The box is located to the right of the doors as you approach the building.  If you are no longer in the area, materials can be returned by mail to:

Golden Library – K-12 Curriculum Material Collection

1500 South Avenue K

Station 32

Portales, NM 88130

A receipt will be sent to you by email when the materials are checked in.

Curriculum Materials Collection Librarian

Susan Asplund's picture
Susan Asplund
Contact:
GSSC 126B
Portales, NM
575-562-2629

Hours

Closed 10/27 and 10/28 due to weather

Building Open to Students and University Personnel ONLY

Monday- Friday 8 AM- 8 PM

Saturday- Sunday noon- 8 PM

 

Online Reference Hours

Monday- Thursday 9 AM- midnight

Friday 9 AM- 8 PM

Saturday  noon- 8 PM

Sunday noon- midnight

 

Contact Information:

Reference Services Phone: 575.562.2638

Email: ENMU.reference@enmu.edu

Permanent collections

Materials are listed in the online catalog and can be checked out at the Circulation Desk on the main floor of the library.

Big Book Collection:

Located at the back of the K-12 Curriculum Collection, it consists of books that were part of previous curriculum collections.  There are a large number of fiction and nonfiction books both in English and Spanish.  The nonfiction collection contains books on a variety of topics including social studies, science, and art. 

Books in this collection can be found through a catalog search.  There are currently two call number systems being used in this collection.  Staff is currently working on reorganizing the books using the Dewey Decimal call number system from an in-house system using the first word of the title to organize the books.  Books that also have a copy in the Juvenile collection will have identical Dewey call numbers as this process is completed. 

Globes:

The globes are either on a removable base or mounted on a ring.  They vary in size from 12 to 40 inches.

Types available: physical or sculptural relief.  Engish or Spanish labelling.

Math Manipulatives:

blocks (animal shapes, linking or regular), chains, coins, compasses, counting sticks, cubes, dominos, geoboards, pattern blocks, tanagrams, tiles

Puppets:

Currently there is a small collection of puppet available for check out.  There are a few human puppets but the majority of the collection is made up of animal puppets.