Open Educational Resources (OER) and Creative Commons

An online journal highlighting and reviewing public domain materials. Includes articles (CC licensed) written about materials and links to collections, films, images, audio, texts, and whatever else they find.

Less of a collection and more of a paradigm, CC licenses are more flexible than standard copyright and publishing licenses, many allowing free use without consigning the work to the public domain. Various searches are available through this site. Be sure to consult the exact text of the license before use.

Agricultural and food related data from over 200 countries, as compiled by the United Nations' Food and Agriculture Organization. The dataset is searchable and downloadable.

A huge collection of data from the World Bank, from agriculture to urban development. Click the Data Catalog to see a list of datasets, tables, and topics.

A collection of open data and open content packages.

Data from many UN organizations.

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 30 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

open access databases for molecular biology data. Descriptions of the databases, including new databases and changes, are available in the annual Databases supplement to NAR.

Repository for all file formats and types of data--searchable, browsable, and taggable.

This is a list of repositories and databases for open data from the Open Access Directory

Provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses. Collections include texts, letters, oral history transcripts, etc.

The CIA World FactBook and the Occupational Outlook Handbook are just a few of the many government documents available online. Other agencies have collections of historical material, such as the National Parks Service Parks History site. USA.gov will search the whole federal government. Science.gov searches just the science related agencies (NASA, EPA, FWS, NOAA, etc.)

Text, audio, video, images, websites, etc.

A developing open access project in folklore studies. The project itself is still in development, but there are links to the existing online collections in each category.

This is a list of OA disciplinary repositories (also called central or subject repositories).