LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER) and Creative Commons: Open Access Publishing

Open Publishing Getting Started

Authoring Open Textbooks
This guide is for faculty authors, librarians, project managers and others who are involved in the production of open textbooks in higher education and K-12. Content includes a checklist for getting started, publishing program case studies, textbook organization and elements, writing resources and an overview of useful tools.
Guidelines for open educational resources (OER) in higher education
UNESCO's 27-page guidebook.
A Guide to Making Open Textbooks With Students
A handbook for faculty interested in practicing open pedagogy by involving students in the making of open textbooks, ancillary materials, or other Open Educational Resources. This is a first edition, compiled by Rebus Community, and we welcome feedback and ideas to expand the text.
Modifying an Open Textbook: What You Need to Know
This is a five-step guide for faculty, and those who support faculty, who want to modify an open textbook. Step-by-step instructions for importing and editing common open textbook file and platform types are included.
The OER Starter Kit
This starter kit has been created to provide instructors with an introduction to the use and creation of open educational resources (OER). The text is broken into five sections: Getting Started, Copyright, Finding OER, Teaching with OER, and Creating OER. Although some chapters contain more advanced content, the starter kit is primarily intended for users who are entirely new to Open Education. [Version 1.1. Revised September 5th, 2019.]
Open Educational Network Publishing Resources
Information, resources, and tools from the OEN

Open Access and Accessibility

Principles of Accessible and Universal Design
Accessibility Toolkit 2nd Ed.-CC BY Amanda Coolidge, Sue Doner, Tara Robertson, and Josie Gray.
The goal of the Accessibility Toolkit - 2nd Edition is to provide resources for each content creator, instructional designer, educational technologist, librarian, administrator, and teaching assistant to create a truly open textbook—one that is free and accessible for all students. This is a collaboration between BCcampus, Camosun College, and CAPER-BC.
Open Course Design with Accessibility in Mind-Jason Rodenbeck, Assistant Director of Academic Web Accessibility, presents on creating online courses while incorporating accessible Open Educational Resources. KU Libraries OE Week 2021.
Copyright ownership - onllne course materials-Authors' Alliance FAQ

Open Access Journals

Publishing Cooperative - Open Education Network
The Publishing Cooperative is a community that provides shared infrastructure, processes, and resources to expand open textbook publishing in higher education. We offer professional development and support in open textbook publishing concepts and production pathways, as well as access to a complete suite of editorial and design services.
Directory of Open Access Journals
over 5000 scholarly (though not necessarily peer reviewed) journals with full access to all issues. About half of these are searchable by article keywords, but the rest are only accessible via journal title or subject.
Science Commons Open Access Addendum
A form for generating a copyright transfer form addendum to add open access rights to your new articles
SPARC Partner Publishers
Publishers and individual journals that have joined SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) in providing affordable open access publishing

One method of publishing open access materials is to find a journal that publshing all or some of its articles open access. This may be in the form of:

full open access (everything, right away; there may or may not be author fees)
archival open access (everything, after an embargo period)
author-choice open access (author chooses open access, usually for an additional fee)

Increasing numbers of journals opt for some sort of open access poilicy; ask the journals you usually publish with what their policies are.

General Resources on Open Access Publishing

(Mis)Leading Open Access Myths
Top myths (and responses) about open access publishing
"Predatory Open-Access Scholarly Publishers" by Jeffrey Beal
a review of several publishers with large author fees, restrictive copyright licenses, and other "predatory" behaviors.
Transforming Scholarly Publishing through Open Access: A Bibliography
E-prints
a project dedicated to author/institution self-archiving. Includes a pilot citation database.
PressBooks | Simple Book Publishing
There are a number of options to self-publish book length publications, including the plain old PDF. Pressbooks is an example of publisher for more elaborate ebooks, which can include embedded video and images and can be exported in most of the standard ebook formats. One author's experience.

Open Data

Another form of open access is Open Data repositories. Even if your article is not open access, or if you haven't published an article on the data at all, the data may still be valuable to other researchers. So far data is mostly available through institutional (university, agency, or association) repositories, but other repositories are forming. Journals may also provide links to data sources, and sometime hosting, if submitted with an article. Ask about data hosting when you submit articles for publcation.

American Chemical Society Journals
ACS is an example of a publisher that provides open data links with published, non-open access articles. NOTE: This link does not provide SCSU subscription access to ACS journals. Click here for subscription access.
Data.gov
US Federal government site for direct access to data from Executive Branch agencies.
Open Data Commons
How (and why) to post your data openly

Open Educational Resources (OER) and Creative Commons

Best Practices

PUB 101

Open Publishing Getting Started

Open Access and Accessibility

Open Access Journals

General Resources on Open Access Publishing

Open Data