Online Resources & K-12 Collection Librarian
Introduction
This guide is intended to assist students in researching and supporting education and counseling classes at Eastern New Mexico University. Databases for research, subject-specific librarian information, helpful websites, government documents, featured books, and a few class-specific pages are included in this guide.
New In Education
Starting your search
The Golden Library OneSearch enables you to search everything in the library at one time, including books, music, films, journal articles, eBooks, etc. If you are searching only for journal articles, using individual, subject-specific databases is highly recommended. (Look in the left bar.)
- To search everything at once, enter your search term in the box
- At the left-hand sidebar, limit your search by format.
- For eBooks, click eBook box in the left-hand sidebar, then the title link and the "View eBook" link
- For print books, films, music, etc., click the appropriate box(es) in the left-hand sidebar, then the title link and look for location code, call number and availability.
Recommended Databases
ERIC
Comprehensive index of education literature and resources ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Education Research Complete
Topics covered in this database include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides journals, books and other monographs.
Educator's Reference Complete
Educator's Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing.
Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Learning Express PrepSTEP
PrepSTEP is a dynamic online learning platform that enables academic success and preparation for today’s workplace. This site includes test preparation for the licensure tests. It is packed with powerful resources for self-guided academic skill-building and vital tools for career and workforce readiness.
New Mexico Public Education and Licensure Help
The Praxis test preparation book and individual practice tests are available through the Learning Express PrepSTEP database. To reach this material, go to the Databases button in the Find column on the library's main page. Type Learning Express PrepSTEP into the search box on the right side of the page. Type Praxis into the search box on the Learning Express PrepSTEP main page. You will want to have an account in Learning Express PrepSTEP to enable you to track your progress and allow you to return to unfinished work.
Helpful Education Websites
Common Core
This site contains the Common Core standards and offers information about how to implement it and make sure students are meeting the standards.
Smithsonian Education
This website has a multitude of resources from the Smithsonian Institution. This website is especially helpful for virtual field trips
National Education Association
This website has information about the National Education Association(NEA), news articles, professional development, and general information about the NEA.
Annenburg Learner
This website has information, professional development, and supplemental materials for content areas.
LitWorld
LitWorld is a global nonprofit that strengthens kids and communities through the power of stories. Through World Read Aloud Day, and our award-winning LitClub and LitCamp programs, we bring joyful learning to children around the world. – litworld.com
Quizlet
This is an interactive quiz application designed for at home study. This application can be used in any content area, but this format is better for secondary students.
50 Ways to Use AI in the Language Classroom
A list of 50 ideas for using AI in the language classroom. You will need to fill out the information form to access this free material.
Read Write Think
This website has lesson plans, supplemental materials, and other resources.
Blooket
Blooket is a new take on review and trivia games. Hosts can choose a question set and unique game mode. Players answer questions to help them win.
What Works Clearinghouse
Search the What Works Clearinghouse to find the information you need to make evidence-based decisions in your classrooms and schools.
Socrative
This is an assessment management application. This application allows for real- time feedback.
Kahoot
Kahoot is an interactive quiz application. Kahoot can be used with all students and content areas.
National Center for Education Statistics
This website contains statistics on the public schools in the United States.
U.S. Department of Education
This website contains information regarding policies, statistics, and helpful resources for teachers.