ENMU Publications
The Institutional Repository (IR) is a digital library hosted by the Golden Library of Eastern New Mexico University. The IR maintains works relevant to Eastern New Mexico University (“ENMU” or “the University”) and its community and presents ENMU and its scholarly activities to the world. Institutional Repository content includes but is not limited to:
- Research-centered, scholarly publications and course-related art works or writings, such as: faculty scholarship, Masters’ theses, winners of the Student Research and Creativity Conference, and undergraduate senior portfolios
- Publications or works tied to ENMU history, events, and organizations
- Community projects with deliverables undertaken by the University, such as the Eastern New Mexico Oral History Project
The ENMU Institutional Best Practices document can be found below. Please review fully before submitting your work.
- Institutional Repository Best PracticesA document describing the best practices for the Institutional Repository. Effective 12 August 2024.
- ENMU Master's Thesis ProjectWe use Biblioboard, a public-access platform, to host our students' digitized Master's theses. In 2009, the Golden Library committed to converting each thesis to electronic format to be made available online. Recent theses produced digitally are uploaded directly, and existing print theses are in the process of being converted. (Note: The theses on this site do not represent all completed theses at this time.) The range of topics include, the study of the regional archeology sites, various educational topics, literary analysis, behavior/communication analysis, religious analysis and history of churches and religion.
- Faculty WorkHere is located published scholarly work of ENMU faculty as part of the Institutional Repository. Associated contributors are students, staff, faculty, or adjunct faculty who possess current ENMU credentials or possessed these credentials at the time they completed the project. To be eligible for submission, submitters must certify they are duly authorized owner/author of this article/thesis/project.
- Silverpack OnlineThe Silverpack was the student yearbook of Eastern New Mexico University. It was first published in 1935 as the Annualette, but it acquired the name Silverpack the next year in 1936. The final year of publication was 2008. Each volume was put together by a different staff of ENMU students and represents their interests, priorities, world views, and creative flair.
Eastern New Mexico Oral History Project
- Eastern New Mexico Oral History Project @ BiblioboardStarting in the early '70s, professors at ENMU, working alongside amateur oral historians in the local community began conducting oral history interviews of citizens that had lived in the area for over 50 years. The collection now includes interviews that focus on a wide variety of topics including: women’s rights, homesteading the Temperance Movement, Native American culture and history, and World Wars I & II. The collection also includes interviews and lectures with the internationally-known pioneering science fiction novelist Jack Williamson.
Eastern New Mexico Oral History Project -- Featured Interviews
- Bataan Death March SurvivorsA five part interview with survivors of the Bataan Death March who resided in Roosevelt County, New Mexico.
- Gov. John BurroughsA two part interview plus the inaugural address of John Burroughs, the 18th Governor of New Mexico.
- Jack WilliamsonMultiple interviews with renowned science fiction pioneer, Jack Williamson.
- S. Omar BakerAn interview with author S. Omar Baker.
- Dr. Floyd Golden PhD.Multiple entries of the second university president, Dr. Floyd Golden.
- Francis CristalAn interview with women's suffrage proponent, Francis Cristal
- Eve BallTwo interviews with Eve Ball, an educator that taught in the reservation schools in New Mexico.
- Margaret N. BigmouthThe daughter of Duncan Valachee talks about her life and memories.
- Stella DominguezMrs. Dominguez discusses her involvement with the Spanish community in Portales, New Mexico.
New Mexico Reads
New Mexico Reads Database
This ebook and audiobook collection provided by the New Mexico State Library includes Southwest history and culture titles and fiction by New Mexico authors or set in the Southwest. New Mexico Reads also includes some books on racism in America, library and information science, national topics such as the 1918 Spanish flu pandemic, and a selection of audiobooks. There is a small collection of books for children and tweens and teens. ENMU users create a free account using your ENMU ID# as your library ID. Users can also download an app for reading on a mobile device. Visit your app store and search for the Axis 360 app. Once you have downloaded the app, search for New Mexico State Library and login.
New Deal Portales Walking/Driving Tour
Are you interested in historical sites and artwork located in Portales? The New Deal programs only existed from the late 1930s-1940s but resulted in striking cultural artifacts. You can take this self-guided to learn about some of the agencies and the programs’ effect on Portales, including the Work Progress Administration (WPA), Federal Arts Project (FAP), and more. The tour begins on the ENMU campus, which can be completed by walking. The remainder of the tour can be done via automobile.
The tour is available on the website Clio.
The Clio app can be downloaded for seamless touring:
Alumni E-blasts
Interested in learning more about resources as they become available and other campus news? Stay up to date with news and updates from ENMU Alumni Affairs and the ENMU Foundation, including alumni perks, event invitations and the Green & Silver e-newsletters.