The Jack Williamson Science Fiction Library at Eastern New Mexico University has one of the top science fiction collections in the world. It contains more than 30,000 volumes, including:
Many items were donated from the personal collection of science fiction pioneer Jack Williamson, a Grand Master of Science Fiction and winner of the Hugo and Nebula awards. Williamson earned his bachelor's and master's degrees from ENMU, taught for 17 years as a faculty member in the English department, endowed scholarships for ENMU students and underwrote the University's literary magazine, El Portal. He died in 2006 at age 98.
In 2006, the collection expanded with the donation of 15,000 volumes of science fiction books and magazines from R. Duane and Kathryn Elms of Silver City. The gift included one-of-a-kind items, first editions, signed editions and thousands of collectible publications.
For more information, contact Gene Bundy at 575.562.2636 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
The New Mexico Collection is an assortment of rare and unusual works, books by New Mexico authors, and books about New Mexico. Selected authors include: Emerson Hough, Eugene Manlove Rhodes, Paul Horgan, Rudolfo Anaya, Tony Hillerman, Mary Austin, J. Evetts Haley, Father Stanley Crocchioloa and Oliver La Farge. The collection also includes a number of books about individual New Mexico communities and counties.
For more information, contact Gene Bundy, or by phone at 575.562.2636.
The Eastern New Mexico Oral History Project at Golden Library is an ongoing project to preserve the rich history of the diverse cultures inhabiting eastern New Mexico. Starting in the early 1970s, professors at ENMU, working alongside amateur oral historians in the local community began conducting oral history interviews of citizens that had lived in the area for over 50 years. The collection now includes interviews that focus on a wide variety of topics including: women’s rights, homesteading, the Temperance Movement, Native American culture and history, World War I & II. The collection also includes interviews and lectures with the internationally-known pioneering science fiction novelist Jack Williamson.
Over 800 combined hours of interview audio recordings are in the archive, A significant portion of those hours includes interviews that were recorded between 1973 to 1990 on cassette tapes. These analog recordings were digitized by Richard Baysinger and his staff which include student workers and Tom Fine, a professional audio engineer, through his company Tom Fine Audio Services in Brewster, New York. A total of 593 interviews have been digitized.
The digitized oral histories are available in Biblioboard, an online platform. To learn more about the project and see highlights, CLICK HERE.
The scope of our digitized papers is the Eastern New Mexico region.
1. Clovis News Journal (May 25, 2017)
2. Mach Meter (September 3, 1993-December 17, 1999)
3. Portales Daily News (August 26, 1935-December 31, 1956)
4. Portales Herald News (1904, 1907, 1912-1916)
5. Portales Journal (June 22, 1917-December 3, 1920)
6. Portales News Tribune (1916, January 1,1958-April 30, 2016)
7. Portales Times (1903-1909, 1912)
8. Portales Tribune (September 29, 1936-February 8, 1957)
9. Portales Valley News (January 7, 1915-October 19, 1936)
10. Roosevelt County Herald (1908-1911, 1926-1930)
11. The Progressive (February 14-October 16, 1936)
Our newspapers are held within Laserfiche, a non-public-access platform The newspapers cannot be made public for copyright purposes. You have two options for access. You can either make a specific request for an Archives or Special Collections staff member to make a search or you can make an appointment to search yourself. All of our newspapers can be browsed or searched. They have been scanned with optical character recognition (OCR) to allow full-text searching. If you would like to make a request, see below for more specific information.
We have collections related to science fiction and fantasy. These archival collections are unprocessed unless otherwise noted.
In our two genre-collections, Williamson (science fiction) and Southwest (American), we have two categories of materials: Open and Glass. This shelf location is indicated with the call number in the catalog. Materials designated as Open can be checked out for the same circulation periods as other ENMU materials. These may also circulate to other institutions for interlibrary loans. Materials designated as Glass may not be checked out; they must be used within the reading room by appointment for research purposes. Information for using the Glass materials can be found in the "Using the materials in person" tab above.
We are happy to help connect people to the information they want if we can. If you need information, please try to provide as much specific information as possible to help us narrow the search. Examples include:
It will also help if you can provide a timeline on when you would like the information. If we are already doing searches, we may not be able to immediately get started on your request.
You may view non-circulating materials in the reading room on Monday-Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. by appointment.
We collect materials relating to the science fiction genre and the American Southwest. A more complete collection development statement is forthcoming. If you have any questions about our holdings, please contact the Special Collections Librarian, Gene Bundy 575.562.2636.