Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Temporary Change (as of 8/4/2020)
Our access will be temporarily affected during the COVID-19 pandemic. Books may be checked out. Upon return, they will be quarantined for 3 days before being reshelved.
We will not be allowing browsing of archival materials as we would not be able to appropriately disinfect our historical materials without damaging them. However, there are many materials that have been scanned that I will be able to access from home to assist in your searches, and I can scan others on the days where I am on campus. Please email me with your search details, and I will do my best to address your request. Thank you for your understanding in this situation.
- Regina Bouley Sweeten
What is in the University Archives?
Though the university began as Eastern New Mexico Junior College in 1934, the University Archives was established in 1972 by the ENMU Board of Regents. Holdings before the Archives were established are more spotty. Examples of our holdings are below.
- History of ENMU
- Course catalogs and class schedules
- Papers of each president and vice-president
- Each thesis by ENMU graduate students
- Monday Memo and its predecessor The Daily Faculty Bulletin
- El Portal, yearly publication of the English Department
- Q2-3 Guide to Public Radio and Television for Eastern New Mexico and West Texas
- Scrapbook history of ENMU beginning in 1934
- Silverpack Yearbooks to 2008
- Meeting minutes
University Archives Box List
A numbered list of box labels for the University Archives, describing their contents. You can search or scan this to find boxes which are more likely to hold the material for which you are searching.
ENMU Photographs, unprocessed
There are many photographs of ENMU, particularly buildings that have been sorted. This is a list of unprocessed photographs and the names of their original folders.
We have two digital repositories.
- Biblioboard: This is a public-access platform which hosts our students' digitized Master's theses as well as the ENMU Oral History Project. In 2009, the Golden Library committed to converting each thesis to electronic format to be made available online. The range of topics include, the study of the regional archeology sites, various educational topics, literary analysis, behavior/communication analysis, religious analysis and history of churches and religion.
- Laserfiche: This is a non-public-access platform which hosts our digitized University Archives holdings, Eastern New Mexico newspapers, and files for the Masters' theses and the Oral History Project. The Archives holdings can not be public-facing due to sensitivity of information. The newspapers cannot be made public for copyright purposes.
How can I use the digital repositories?
- Biblioboard: Just follow the links above. For the oral histories, you can just click the "Play This" button in each audio file's record or "View This" for other formats.
- Laserfiche: You have two options for access. You can either make a specific request for an Archives or Special Collections staff member to make a search or you can make an appointment to search yourself. There may be some archival material that may be restricted, but all of our newspapers can be browsed or searched. Our Laserfiche materials have been scanned with optical character recognition (OCR) to allow full-text searching.
How can I use archival materials?
Temporary Change (as of 3/25/2020)
Our access will be temporarily affected during the COVID-19 pandemic. We will not be allowing browsing of materials as we would not be able to appropriately disinfect our historical materials without damaging them. However, there are many materials that have been scanned that I will be able to access from home to assist in your searches. Please email me with your search details, and I will do my best to address your request. If I am unable to do so from home, I will add your query to my list to address when I return to the office. Thank you for your understanding in this situation.
We are happy to help connect people to the information they want if we can. If you need information, please try to provide as much specific information as possible to help us narrow the search. Examples include:
- Date range
- First and last name of person or people involved, including unmarried names if applicable
- Contextual information: What sport did the person play if they were a student athlete? Was the event you want information on part of a larger event or an annual event?
- Your contact information in case we need clarification or to send you what we find
It will also help if you can provide a timeline on when you would like the information. If we are already doing searches, we may not be able to immediately get started on your request.
You may view non-circulating materials in the reading room on Monday-Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. by appointment.
- If you are planning on conducting research at the archives, we prefer that you make an appointment. This will give us an opportunity to ready the materials for your visit. You can do so by either calling or emailing Regina Bouley Sweeten, Archivist (email@example.com or to the right) or Gene Bundy, Special Collections Librarian (firstname.lastname@example.org).
- We can provide duplicating in the form of scans on site.
- Parking on campus is free, but you must obtain a temporary parking permit to avoid a ticket. More information can be found on the ENMU Parking website.
Collection Development Policy
The University Archives collects materials produced in the operation of the university. We do not collect personnel information that is more appropriately held by the Office of the Registrar or Human Resources. To see what university records are required to be transferred to the Archives, you can reference the Retention and Disposition of Public Records section of the New Mexico Administrative Code.
A more complete collection development statement is forthcoming. If you have any questions about our holdings, please contact the Archivist, Regina Bouley Sweeten. (Contact information above.)
Archivist/Public Service Librarian
FY21 In-house ENMU-P Budget
An in-house budget covering July 1, 2020-June 30, 2021 for the Eastern New Mexico University's Portales campus.
The in-house budget is posted in response to Section 3 D (10) of New Mexico Senate Bill 195 (2010) (Sunshine portal transperancy act): The sunshine portal shall provide, at a minimum, access to the following information: a directory of all employee positions, including exempt employee positions, by state agency, showing each position's title and salary.