Instruction and Engagement Librarian
Introduction
This guide is intended to assist students in researching and support education classes at Eastern New Mexico University. Databases for research, subject-specific librarian information, helpful websites, government documents, featured books, and a few class- specific pages are included in this guide.
Starting your search
The Golden Library OneSearch enables you to search everything in the library at one time, including books, music, films, journal articles, eBooks, etc. If you are searching only for journal articles, using individual, subject-specific databases is highly recommended. (Look in the left bar.)
- To search everything at once, enter your search term in the box
- At the left-hand sidebar, limit your search by format.
- For eBooks, click eBook box in the left-hand sidebar, then the title link and the "View eBook" link
- For print books, films, music, etc., click the appropriate box(es) in the left-hand sidebar, then the title link and look for location code, call number and availability.
Recommended Databases
ERIC
Comprehensive index of education literature and resources
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Education Research Complete
Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.
Educator's Reference Complete
Educator's Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.
Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Cabells Scholarly Analytics
Cabells directories of journals in 18 disciplines including accounting, economics, education, finance, management, and marketing. Entries include information on style, format, topic areas, review process, acceptance rate, and publication fees charged by each journal. Note: Cabell’s Analytics has changed the name of their Blacklist tab to Predatory Reports. As the new name suggests, this is a list of journals that have complaints against them or are under investigation.
Learning Express PrepSTEP
PrepSTEP is a dynamic online learning platform that can change the lives of students through academic success and preparation for today’s workplace. It is packed with powerful resources for self-guided academic skill-building and vital
tools for career and workforce readiness. It provides support for key basic skills that can enhance student retention and keep students engaged and on track to graduation.
Sports Medicine & Education Index
Indexes and abstracts articles from peer-reviewed journals, trade magazines and popular magazines, report literature, and conference proceedings on physical education curricula, sports medicine, dance, sports law, kinesiology, motor learning, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology.
Licensure Help
- New Mexico Public Education DepartmentThis website has all the information and application forms for New Mexico teaching licenses.
- New Mexico Teacher AssessmentsThis website contains study and registration for New Mexico teaching assessments.
Helpful Education Websites
Common Core
This site contains the Common Core standards and offers information about how to implement it and make sure students are meeting the standards.
Smithsonian Education
This website has a multitude of resources from the Smithsonian Institution. This website is especially helpful for virtual field trips
National Education Association
This website has information about the National Education Association(NEA), news articles, professional development, and general information about the NEA.
Annenburg Learner
This website has information, professional development, and supplemental materials for content areas.
Quizlet
This is an interactive quiz application designed for at home study. This application can be used in any content area, but this format is better for secondary students.
Read Write Think
This website has lesson plans, supplemental materials, and other resources.
Blooket
Blooket is a new take on review and trivia games. Hosts can choose a question set and unique game mode. Players answer questions to help them win.
What Works Clearinghouse
Search the What Works Clearinghouse to find the information you need to make evidence-based decisions in your classrooms and schools.
Scholastic
This website has lesson plans, activities, and videos for the classroom. This website has information for all content areas, but the site is more applicable to primary students.
Socrative
This is an assessment management application. This application allows for real- time feedback.
Kahoot
Kahoot is an interactive quiz application. Kahoot can be used with all students and content areas.
National Center for Education Statistics
This website contains statistics on the public schools in the United States.
U.S. Department of Education
This website contains information regarding policies, statistics, and helpful resources for teachers.