Curriculum Materials Collection Librarian
Starting Your Search
The Golden Library OneSearch enables you to search everything in the library at one time, including books, music, films, journal articles, eBooks, etc. If you are searching only for journal articles, using individual, subject-specific databases is highly recommended.
- To search everything at once, enter your search term in the box
- At the left-hand sidebar, limit your search by format.
- For eBooks, click eBook box in the left-hand sidebar, then the title link and the "View eBook" link
- For print books, films, music, etc., click the appropriate box(es) in the left-hand sidebar, then the title link and look for location code, call number and availability.
If you are searching for materials not held at ENMU, use the WorldCat search.To request a part (article, chapter) or all of a resource (whole book), please use the Interlibrary Loan program, information found in the Interlibrary Loan tab.
Need more help? Try our library tutorials with research tips and videos.
What is the K-12 Instructional Resource Collection?
The K-12 Instructional Resources Collection in the Golden Student Success Center is one of six Regional Evaluation Centers for the Instructional Materials Bureau of the New Mexico Department of Public Education. It is a collection of K-12 textbooks and teaching materials reviewed for adoption by the New Mexico Board of Public Education for use in New Mexico public schools.
This collection serves:
School districts in eastern New Mexico
Faculty and students in the College of Education and education classes taught in other departments (Music, History, Mathematics)
Home school families
Location:
GSSC 202: 2nd floor; S.E. Corner
Contact Curriculum Librarian :
Telephone: 575-562-2629
Email: susan.asplund@enmu.edu
Homeschoolers and Community Members - Get Textbooks
How can I check out Instructional Resources materials?
- You must have a free Golden Library account to check out materials. The free account is obtained by filling out an application form at the Golden Library Circulation Desk.
- You must have a form of identification like a State ID or a Driver's license to show to the library employee.
- Once the form is completed and the information is entered into the system, you can check out the materials. This process will take 5-10 minutes.
- You are now able to check out all available materials throughout the library.
Related Resources
- Black History Month This Web portal is a collaborative project of the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities, National Gallery of Art, National Park Service, Smithsonian Institution, United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and U.S. National Archives and Records Administration. - From site
- Center for Civic Education The Center for Civic Education helps students develop (1) an increased understanding of the institutions of constitutional democracy and the fundamental principles and values upon which they are founded, (2) the skills necessary to participate as competent and responsible citizens, and (3) the willingness to use democratic procedures for making decisions and managing conflict. (https://www.civiced.org/about)
- CFR (Council for Foreign Relations) Education CFR (Council on Foreign Relations) Education aims to close the global literacy gap in our country by providing accessible, accurate, and authoritative resources that build the knowledge, skills, and perspective high school and higher education students need to understand and engage with today’s most pressing global issues. CFR is a nonpartisan, independent national membership organization, think tank, educator, and publisher, including of Foreign Affairs. It generates policy-relevant ideas and analysis, convenes experts and policymakers, and promotes informed public discussion—all to have impact on the most consequential issues facing the United States and the world.
- Common Core State Standards Initiative This site is the official home of the Common Core State Standards. It is hosted and maintained by the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) and the National Governors Association Center for Best Practices (NGA Center). It provides parents, educators, policymakers, journalists, and others easy access to the actual standards, as well as supporting information and resources.
- EdReports.org EdReports.org is an independent nonprofit designed to improve K-12 education. EdReports.org increases the capacity of teachers, administrators, and leaders to seek, identify, and demand the highest quality instructional materials. Drawing upon expert educators, our reviews of instructional materials and support of smart adoption processes equip teachers with excellent materials nationwide. - from site.
- Educating for American Democracy Their Vision: Excellence in History and Civics for All Learners. A call to action to invest in strengthening history and civic learning, and to ensure that civic learning opportunities are delivered equitably throughout the country. (https://www.educatingforamericandemocracy.org/)
- Indian Pueblo Cultural Center-Education Resources Resources include an Indian Wisdom Curriculum Project and Traditional Teachings Camp.
- Library of Congress Teacher Resources The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching. Find Library of Congress lesson plans and more that meet Common Core standards, state content standards, and the standards of national organizations.
- New Mexico Battle of the Books The New Mexico Battle of the Books is a reading competition for students in grades 4-8. Children read and meet with their peers throughout the year, then enter a quiz-style battle, with four rounds, in which they are asked about books that they have read from the year’s designated Battle of the Books reading list. The New Mexico Battle of the Books encourages the youth of New Mexico to read high quality literature, have fun, and compete by demonstrating their knowledge of books. - From Battle of the Books Website
- NM Adopted Content Standards The adopted content standards are formed by using the The New Mexico Instructional Scope (NMIS). The NMIS is as an educator influenced tool designed to provide guidance and support to assure that all students in New Mexico have access to content at their grade level combined with the use of impactful instructional strategies. The tool is a strategy for assuring a guaranteed, viable, and equitable curriculum across the state, while at the same time capitalizing on the leadership and expertise of educators at the local level.
- NMPED Instructional Materials Bureau The New Mexico Public Education Department partners with educators, communities, and families to ensure that ALL students are healthy, secure in their identity, and holistically prepared for college, career, and life. - from NM PED Leadership page.
- NMPED Regional Review Center Contact Information Contact information for the New Mexico Public Education Department evaluation collection review sites. Contact the site for more information about using the collection.
- PBS for Educators PBS Education offers a wide variety of resources for PreK-12 educators, from classroom resources to professional development and collaboration.
- Food Education Insecurity Toolkit Free Spirit Publishing food insecurity teacher guide. The guide shares 9 ways to combat food insecurity and conversation starters.
U.S. Department of Education
- The Condition of EducationThis website has the key indicators of the condition of education in the United States. These indicators summarize important developments and trends using the latest statistics and are updated every year or every other year. A Congressionally mandated annual report on these indicators is provided to the White House and Congress each year.
- Department of EducationThe Department of Education establishes policies on federal financial aid for education, and distributing as well as monitoring those funds. It also collects data on America's schools and disseminates education research.
- Digest of Education StatisticsThe primary purpose of the Digest of Education Statistics is to provide a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. The Digest includes a selection of data from many sources, both government and private, and draws especially on the results of surveys and activities carried out by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).
- Institute of Education SciencesThe research arm of the Department of Education, the mission of the IES is to provide rigorous and relevant evidence on which to ground education practice and policy and share this information broadly.
- National Assessment of Educational ProgressAlso known as "The Nation's Report Card," the National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the largest nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas.
- National Center for Education StatisticsThe National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. It publishes a variety of annual reports.
Ben's Guide is a service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO), designed to inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government, which issues the publications and information products disseminated by the GPO’s Federal Depository Library Program.